1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core i7 975 XE Breaks 5 GHz Barrier, With Air Cooling

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,708 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Ok, bring them up. I'm sure they're Istanbul ES benchmarks that have no traces of "Phenom" in the name anywhere. You cannot use an ES to prove the Phenom FX point since the CPU vendor string can be manipulated.

    Even then, the objective behind Istanbul is parallelism, not that a numerically high count of cores makes it better in the client platform. Again, there is no 6-core client CPU from AMD, in the foreseeable future.
     
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    they are on an AM3 board the Asus M4A79 ;)
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,708 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Waiting for your benches. Not in this thread.

    Back to topic.
     
  4. Assassin48 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,450 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    515
    Location:
    95350
    This isnt a AMD vs INTEL Thread so plz no more arguing this is just news that states they were able to hit 5ghz on intel on air which is nice for any chip

    PLZ no more
     
    freaksavior says thanks.
  5. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,038 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    i think that this will be pricey much like the extreme versions of intels

    rapid tho this cpu is pure rapid
     
  6. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Oh god I hate when scottish people say pure :laugh:

    This will cost about 1k I think unless intel feels generous.
     
  7. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    @ Cdawall... don't mind bta, he has no internal sources at AMD. Also, there will be an FX-90 in August-September (around the launch of the HD5 series). Prelim results of the C3 Silicon put it at 4.4Ghz. (C3 clocks to 7Ghz on LN2).

    As for the i7 reaching 5Ghz... that is a good feat but we don't want our cooling loops boiling water nor do we need a car radiator strapped to our PC's to cool it.
     
  8. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,620 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    168
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Did anyone read anything? It can barely get a cpu-z shot w/o crashing. Notice there's not a benchmark at 5 ghz. He had to back it down to 4.75 just so a short pi run would pass. So, it's not even stable at that speed let alone 5 ghz. Lower it some more and that's the probably the stable rate. With the power that thing consumes it would overheat and throw an error if loaded too long.

    Lame, intel trying to steal the limelight, but failed. If you can't at least run 3dmark for a while, then a suicide screenie is pointless. You can all get your pants wet when it FINISHES a benchmark.

    edit: woo, i see he can superpi run in at 5. Load the cores for 5 mins and see what happens...
     
  9. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    They're just ES D0 975s... having a retail D0 920 I can assume the retail product will be just as good.
     
  10. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    This was done on air.

    Phenom II can't pull off those kind of clocks for 24/7 either. Who cares?
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    no it cannot i can vouch for that this is a good clock no doubt about it no current AMD chip can compete with this at all 4.5ghz should be doable on water easy stable
     
  12. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Biostar FTW!
     
  13. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    You guys must remember what chip is this. It's an extreme edition with an extreme price. A Quad Core extreme costs $2700+ in SGD. Yes that's hell. :shadedshu
     
  14. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,936 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,067
    Location:
    Ohio
    Blah. Big benchmark numbers are nice I guess but I really don't give a damn if I can't actually do anything aside from an 8 second super pi run with it. Considering all the i7s are 130w so far it wouldn't suprise me if this thing sucks up 200w with the voltage it would need to get to 5GHz. How much do you want to bet that the heatspreader of this processor has a bluish tint to it due to tempering?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Most OCed i7 920s can pull over 300W from the wall. :laugh: Try a bit more hat.
     
  16. Psychoholic

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    517 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
  17. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    hahaha that's hardly the wattage you draw from the wall :laugh:
     
  18. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    After getting some helpful insight from a guy named "h-i-p-p-o" ...
    Doesn't CPU-Z recognize threads correctly on the i7? HT is off, this is BS.
     
  19. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    Nice results.. makes me want one. But there is no way Im gonna pay the price Intel's putting on this bad boy. No sir. If Im correct the price range on this is over 1K.. correct?
     
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    20c run at 1.52v , sure it is idle temp , one hour under prime 95 test and you can see the cpu jump out form the window
     
  21. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    it's exactly $999

    Also what's your point? We can all see HT is off. You make a quad do 5 GHz on air and then you can go ahead and work it out so it does it with HT on.
     
  22. iStink

    iStink New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    648 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    yeah i mean, at what point do you want bells and whistles over sheer brute force? Would a quad doing 4.5ghz w/ HT on be faster than a 5ghz quad with ht off? It seems like HT is just icing on the cake, not enough to warrant any complaints against a 5ghz quad lol
     
  23. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    :laugh::laugh: True

    and HT is off. I've been trying to find any photoshop evidence on it, not looked too hard but I've got a feeling this isn't real. I'd like it to be real though.
     
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    it has a valid link

    [​IMG]
     
    DrPepper says thanks.
  25. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    There's mostly no difference in Vista, since the OS doesn't use threads correctly. In any case it would be faster in general unless you were rendering or something thread intensive like that.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page