1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Core throttling: How to remove?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by JrRacinFan, Jun 17, 2012.

  1. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ok so here's the deal, my 560Ti 2GB has this core throttle limit. I know the card can go above 999 as I have hit that core clock at 1.07v. Now I have played and tweaked with this card's bios for a few days now trying to remove it and it's a no go. Anyone here with some good knowledge of these cards have any suggestion as to what to try as I may have missed something. As always thanks in advance TPU, you guys are great! :toast:
     
    wrinkles says thanks.
  2. andrewhignight New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    51 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Gardnerville, Nevada
    Don't mess with it.
     
  3. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,180 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    640
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    ask "keven", TPU throttle stop creator.
     
    wrinkles says thanks.
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    The "tinker"-er in me says no. :D

    I doubt it would help but will try it.
     
    wrinkles says thanks.
  5. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,705 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    743
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    As I understand this the 560Ti has a Thermal Throttle Limit of 99C, thus at 99C the Core should start to back down to protect it's integrity. Edit seems it may have anything up to four states of "P" which control the power being the first and thermal throttle the latter.
    Note: [disabling throttle limit may course permanent damage to the GPU]

    I am not aware of a direct solution at this time to disable the thermal limit, that said the TPU community are resourceful and may know a way.

    However you may just require a third party waterblock to keep the thermal dynamics of the GPU in check, increasing the voltage also stresses the voltage regulators and you will need to monitor the temps of these as well to ensure they are runing within safe limits.

    Edit: have you used Nvidia Inspector

    atb (all the best)

    Law-II
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
    wrinkles and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I am nowhere near 99C. Loading at 72C with kombustor. Also I am plenty aware of the risks and no why it's there. Thank you for your unneeded post ATB (all the best)
     
    wrinkles and LifeOnMars say thanks.
  7. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Different card I know, but have you tried saphire trixx oc soft, it got mine past the bios limit and over 1ghz , amd cards tho.
     
    wrinkles and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Won't even run due to being an unsupported card. Had a feeling that would be the case due to Sapphire being mainly an AIB partner.
     
    wrinkles says thanks.
  9. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,414 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    573
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    shame that, sorry ive not had an nvidia card since 2xx ,so im out of ideas at 1:ohwell:.
     
    wrinkles and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  10. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,941 (3.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Have you tried nibitor? There's also EVGA's Precision X.
     
    wrinkles and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Will post back results with Precision X. Keep the ideas coming as I want to try and give a 3dM11 bench with 1Ghz+ core. Also, for those that don't know, I have attempted a bios edit with nibitor already and even played with a hex edit.


    EDIT:

    No go with Precision X.
     
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
    wrinkles and qubit say thanks.
  12. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    You having any luck with this Jr? On my 3rd RMA from Zotac and now this card throttles at any speed above 738mhz (and this is an AMP edition so stock is 780mhz) core once GPU usage is above 48% (other 2 were RMA'd for other reasons).
     
    wrinkles and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I gave up on it and didn't look further. Pretty sure it's set in bios but can't find the culprit.
     
  14. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,574 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,329
    Why haven't you tried rewriting the BIOS or is Nvidia not as friendly about that as ATI is?
     
    wrinkles and JrRacinFan say thanks.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    LOL....

    Steevo.... I am at a loss for words.:laugh:
     
  16. wrinkles

    wrinkles New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think I am in the same situation as JR. Everything is stable and temps are fine at 1000 core clock but anything above throttles to 50/405. GPUZ wont read anything higher than 999.8, MSI afterburner pegs at 1000.

    I have tried editing the bios to have 1020 core default and it still throttles the core clock. Nothing is crashing, temps are fine and it simply throttles at anything > 1000 core.

    I have a 560 MSI TFII factory oc to 870 which I have brought up to 1000 at 1.025v and memory at 2160. Max temps in furmark < 69* and all the games I play are stable with this clock.

    So I am confused by this possible core limit and where exactly it is hidden.


    System is FX8120 (air)oc to 4.4 1.42v on a Biostar TA970 using 650TX Corsair 52amp and 2x2GB 1333 RAM
    1xHDD & 8 fans :p
     
  17. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,946 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Perhaps the BIOS simply doesn't support an integer over 999 for the core frequency, or a 4 digit integer for that matter. Don't know if it's on purpose or not, though.
     
    wrinkles and JrRacinFan say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I do not think many fermi cards do 1Ghz core.

    JR W1z reviewed the same card but 1GB here he had the same issue with the card down clocking at higher clocks


    *edit*

     
    wrinkles, Law-II and JrRacinFan say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. wrinkles

    wrinkles New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I do appear to be hitting a safety mode or something but I am nowhere near those volts 1.025 and now 1.037 is what I am using for 1GZ 2180mem at this point. The various GPU stress tests I have tried all show max temps < 70*

    :banghead:
     
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,778 (9.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,239
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have the GTS 450 1GB sonic version and looks to be the same PCB, I will test that to see what it does with voltage.
     
    JrRacinFan and wrinkles say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Flak

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    403 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    US
    Zotac sent me a different BIOS to try. I haven't found a game that throttles the card anymore at Zotac's stock settings for their AMP edition.

    However, with this BIOS just about anything you use to test stability causes not just the 50% throttle but the deep power throttle too so the card is dropping all the way down to 50-100mhz on some of the throttles.
     
    wrinkles says thanks.
  22. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,257 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,804
    Location:
    US
    Maybe one of these

    RivaTuner

    Not 100% sure about these 3
    PowerStrip
    NVMax
    CoolBits
     
    wrinkles and JrRacinFan say thanks.
  23. wrinkles

    wrinkles New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nothing I do in bios seems to remove this limiter of 1GZ. Temps are all great(<70*) and the voltage/clock(1.037/999.8) are stable on all games/benchmarks. But it will not change even to 1001, and will instead read 999.8 unless I bump it up past about 1020 where it will down clock instantly to 405.

    So there is definitely some more room but a limiter that isnt based on v or temp must be stopping me. Maybe I should start a different thread I just figured it might be the same thing JR was running into.
     
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    You're correct. It is. I can't find it either, have since given up in my venture. If you find it throw me a PM and of course, I will do the same.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page