1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

core vmod affects shaders?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by hat, May 20, 2008.

  1. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,917 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    If I do a vmod to get more vGPU, will I be able to clock my shaders higher as well?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Yup. Shader domain is just a part of the core.
    hat says thanks.
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,917 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have no2 hb pencils... will that work?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Squirrely

    Squirrely

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    367 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Should.

    Or you can just do a BIOS flash with nibitor.

    It just all depends if your cooler can take it. If your doing your mem as well, better slap some cooling sinks on them (if you dont have sinks on them currently)

    Sol's guide is great: http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=44216
    hat says thanks.
  5. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Some No.2 pencils will work. I have 3 of em and only my trusty Rose Art brand one has enough conductivity to make a Vmod work. I test by penciling a mark on a piece of paper and checking it with an multi meter to make sure that it's being conductive. It wont be much movement, but some.
    hat says thanks.
  6. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,917 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    where can I get conductive ink?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    hat says thanks.
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,529 (7.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,048
    bad idea...conductive ink, is like a paint and will lower the resistance way too far for your application. Pencil or a potentiometer is the best ideas here!
    hat says thanks.
  9. Rebo&Zooty

    Rebo&Zooty New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    490 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    take a multimeter to an art supply store or local community college, check the drawing supplys, the all graphite pencils tend to be VERY conductive :D
    hat says thanks.
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,917 (5.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    meh... ill just use a normal pencil
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page