1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corrupted Bios?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Vendor, Apr 12, 2012.

  1. Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I have updated my bios atleast 3-4 times, all'em were successful but currently i'm facing a new problem.
    As i disabled secondry sata ports on my mother board using Integrated toolkit of Intel, i need to flash my bios again as the 2nd sata port on first lane has been occupied by my new gaming card, but after saving the custom bios update it doesn't let me update and i get error message similarly "Corrupted Bios or Invalid Hardware" but everything works absolutely fine on my pc (no bsod, no crashes, no hangs).
    I cannot also update using Normal Bios Executable file.

    Is it my new graphics card causing the issue?
    Also, while playing the games temp goes upto like 70-75C, is that ok?

    :banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Okay, we need to slow down a bit here, Vendor.

    • What component is reaching 70-75C?
    • Are your System Specs at the left up to date?
    • Do you mean you have a video card installed in your second PCI-Express x16 slot, or something else is occupying a SATA slot (for HDD/SSD/ODD)

    Take a breath, TPU is here to help.
  3. Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    1. It's my newly bought graphic card that's overheating during games.
    2. Yes, they are. Although i can't use my DVD RW+ as secondary sata port lane was disabled by me during custom bios update to save memory usage.
    3. I don't have a second pcie x16 slot on my pc, it's actually my new card that's occupying the space of 2nd sata port on first lane of my poor little motherboard and cabinet.

    So as there are 2 sata ports lane (2x2) on my pc, 2 of them being disabled using custom bios update, one of them being unusable due to thupiee space occd by graphic card.
    The Motherboard is too small, it's a micro atx. Evrything is just fucked like hell in there.
    I could hard remove jumper and it was nightmare to remove the to disconnect and connect the sata port.
  4. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,527 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    are you not able to restore previous settings for the sata ports ?; in the same way modded the bios before using -

    Intel® Integrator Toolkit

    Installs Intel® Integrator Toolkit (ITK) version 5.0.0.544. ITK is a customization utility for PC OEMs and professional system integrators.

    Just to be sure-

    DH61 pic.jpg

    Key: Yellow sata ports are blocked by Graphic Card & Red sata ports are disabled

    Note: in passing; "custom bios update to save memory usage" you have 4Gb of RAM, most applications available other than adobe Photoshop, Premiere or a hand full or others will not use anywhere near that amount of memory. ? why you where trying to go in this direction

    If you can still access you system bios at POST screen - try the following

    Uninstall your MSI 6850 [so that you have access to your sata ports in yellow box ]
    plug in your Sony DVD RW alongside your WD hdd
    Enable and use your intagrated HD 2000 Graphics
    and follow the instructions below (once you have your bios recovery "fingers crossed" fixed you can then reinstall your 6850)

    This may help-

    CAUTION
    DO NOT POWER DOWN YOUR COMPUTER
    before the update is complete. The update may take up to 5 minutes.

    Recovering the BIOS

    It is unlikely that anything will interrupt the BIOS update; however, if an interruption occurs, the BIOS could be damaged. Due to BIOS size and recovery requirements, a CD-R with the .BIO file in the root directory will be required.

    You can obtain the Recovery BIOS Update file through your computer supplier or by navigating to the Intel Desktop Board DH61WW page on the Intel World Wide Web site Download Center at http://downloadcenter.intel.com

    On the DH61WW page, click on the “BIOS Update” link and then select the Recovery BIOS Update file.

    NOTE
    For more information about updating the Intel Desktop Board BIOS or recovering from a BIOS update failure, go to http://support.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/sb/CS-022312.htm

    best of luck

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: Apr 13, 2012
    Vendor says thanks.
  5. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    70-75C for a 6850 is actually fine. Many higher-end graphics cards are just fine up to around 85-95C, believe it or not.

    So help me understand about this custom BIOS update to save memory usage. Was that an official BIOS update from Intel? If not, and you're failing a BIOS flash going from your custom one to a stock one, then you may have a problem.

    Have you tried using the jumper near the SATA ports to recover the BIOS (removing the jumper).

    http://www.intel.com/content/www/us...ard-dh61ww-interactive-layout-demo-video.html
  6. Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    ^ 1. It was the official bios update, it's downloaded from intel's website itself when we use ITK.
    2. I resetted the jumper about an hour ago, now i will try to update bios again.

    Could it be a physical defect on my mobo?
  7. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    It probably wouldn't be a motherboard defect, but it could be a bad BIOS flash. You have a soldered on BIOS chip with 8 pins, I believe. You could contact Intel directly and run through their steps, and they may have you RMA the board, or they might be able to send you a new BIOS chip.

    So let me make sure I understand what's happening. ITK is giving you an error while trying to re-enable the "red" SATA ports as marked by Law-II, right?

    I have to run, but hopefully somebody else here will pick up where I left off and help you out. Best of luck!
  8. Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I would contact my manufacturer if i see any problem in installing the upcoming bios update from Intel, i hope they release a new update very soon and my problem sorts out.

    Resetting the jumper didn't help, i will post on Intel Support Forum.
    Thanks to Law-11 for his support as well.
  9. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Best of luck to you, and please let us know in this thread if your issue gets resolved.
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,889 (8.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,462
    Did you have a reason to update the bios? I ask because a lot of people update bios like GPU drivers. This is a VERY BAD habit. Only update your bios if you are having an issue. For example sometimes a vendor will release a bios for the soul purpose of a new CPU coming out it needs to support. However if you use an older CPU updating to this new bios it could cause conflicts and give you weird readings. I suspect you upgraded your bios to a Ivy Bridge bios and are still using a Sandy Bridge CPU. That could be your issue right there. Best solution is to downgrade your bios to the version that worked right.
    Law-II says thanks.
  11. Vendor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Messages:
    76 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    issue fixed, i just checked intel's site.. they released a new firmware and it installed successfully. Now Everything works fine, admin please close this thread now.
    Law-II says thanks.
  12. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    We don't normally close threads, as if somebody has a similar issue, they can post here and everybody that has subscribed to the thread (default by posting in it) will see it in their User CP. Glad to hear the new firmware fixed your issue!
    Law-II says thanks.
  13. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,527 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Hi

    Great news; thanks for letting the TPU community know

    atb

    Law-II

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page