1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair 800D backplane

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by freaksavior, Aug 23, 2013.

  1. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    Folks,

    I am looking at the 800D backplane and anybody who has the 6gb one, can you look at it and tell me if there is any remote chance of it being cut like the old one. I highly doubt this myself since it's one single power connector. My theory though is the power issue can be fixed with some wire and solder.

    The 3Gb sata would work but i'm limted to sata II if I use that backplane.
    Thanks guys.

    I'd like to turn these into hot swap bays if possible.
    http://i.imgur.com/qyc8g3S.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/CU141MD.jpg
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    New question can you measure the backplane for the sata 3 version.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,325 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    743
    i think it's a swap, bcs u can buy it for 10 dollars and i don't think Corsair would call it Obsidian Series® 800D SATA 6Gb/s Upgrade Kit if it wasn't just to screw out the old and pop the new in and screw it...
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    Unfortuatly that's not quite what i'm asking.

    I got a nzxt h630 and i'm thinking I am going to mod it and do something like this for easy swap of drives. I've got 7 drives now and eventually want to run a fairly large raid cluster, so swapping out drives would be very nice and the board I have supports this hotswap feature.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    bump
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    Nobody has this case on techpowerup? I doubt that.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,458 (8.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,927
  8. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,458 (8.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,927
    Looks like the power/SATA1 connector will stop you from cutting and soldering it:
    [​IMG]
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  10. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    I assumed the power would effect this but I am mainly concerned about the size of it fitting.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,066 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    905
    bump
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page