1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair adds a 2.13 GHz DDR3 kit to its Shelves.

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 9, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Corsair adds a 2.13 GHz DDR3 kit to its Shelves

    This 2 GB dual-channel kit is the farthest a production-level kit has ever gone before, 2133 MHz. The TW3X2G2133C9DF attains this rated speed at 9-9-9-24 and 2.0 V. The kit is branded under the usual Dominator DHX banner, it comes with the Dominator Air-Flow block, and enhanced cooling. It is tested to perform with NVIDIA motherboards at its rated speeds and comes with life-time warranty, although features such as NVIDIA SLI and Intel XMP certifications are missing.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Hot Hardware
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2008
  2. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Psssh, 2.133Ghz? I want real speed. Faster, faster, faster........
  3. TheGoat Eater

    TheGoat Eater

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    739 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    West Des Moines,IA (USA)
    Those certifications mean nothing as long as it is good and works like it is supposed to :D
  4. TheGoat Eater

    TheGoat Eater

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    739 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    West Des Moines,IA (USA)
    No - now give us speed with tight timings like the :respect: Corsair Dominator DDR2-1111 kit
  5. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    WOW that's insane 2133Mhz RAM!

    the timing's are a little on the high side
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Yeah, but look at the voltage, only 2 V. Still room left till 2.3 V.
  7. TheGoat Eater

    TheGoat Eater

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    739 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    West Des Moines,IA (USA)
    any word on the chips used?
  8. iLLz

    iLLz

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    93 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    West Deptford, NJ
    What about the fact its only certified on nVidia hardware? Does that mean it won't play nice with X38 or X48 chipsets? I mean I know some boards are gonna have the issue regardless but chipset compatibilities are a greater issue. Plus, I would think they at least tested them on Intel Chipsets but didn't certify them so that worries me a bit. Im interested in some benchmarks though. ;)
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    It will work on your X38/X48/P45/P35, just that NV is teething with DDR3 supportive chipsets, and they thought it was nice to tell people this kit will work at its rated specifications even on a NV 790 chipset.
  10. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    2133 MHz ,i like Corsair they put too much salt and pepper
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    I was thinking how good it was that the sticks only have a 0.2v increase from the 1.8, then I remembered, it's friggin' DDR3 - I want high speed, low latencies at the standard 1.5v maybe 1.7v at the most. I'd rather have lower latencies than full on flat out speed. Still, 2.13GHz is impressive, I just want the normal 1.5v.
  12. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    hmm id be impressed if they could get back to 2-2-2-5 timings on DDR2 800 actully, i want DDR timings for DDR2
  13. chron New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    569 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    yeah exactly. I keep thinking to myself, are timings not that important or something? What's with it going up with each new gen of ddr?
  14. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    946 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    i wonder when they'll start releasing tri-channel kits.
  15. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    They'll sell dual-channel kits and single modules like they've been doing all the time. Buying two single modules is a little more expensive than buying a dual-channel kit. So, they'd expect the market to chew on dual+single kits until there's a sizable demand, then jump to tri-channel kits.
  16. mab1376

    mab1376

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2006
    Messages:
    946 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    mn...

    with the new QPI motherboards coming in Q4 08 or Q1 09 the demand will shoot up drastically since the x58 will support the tri-channel. which is when i plan on building my next machine.

    btw is there any ram with a CL of 7-8 with 1.8GHz+ ?

    this CL9 make performance break even with a CL5 DDR2 1.2GHz chips.
  17. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    I'm another one that'd like to see that as well instead of companies ramping up the speeds. If they released a 2GB set extremely tight timings like you said, then I wouldn't even bother with DDR3 if they could do it with the right stock voltage.
  18. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    well DDR will do it if done on a modern process the catch is DDR2 is lower voltage the only reason for going that way. But id like to see them raise DDR2 voltage to DDR voltage produce it on 55nm and see what we get, these high timings bug me to no end.
  19. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Meh, who cares about timings, this stuff is way faster than any ddr2 around by a good bit. The timings go up as speed goes up, so it goes. They'll get a little tighter up at this speed, but probably not that much tighter I would think.
  20. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    i have the same ram cooler and i heard that the cooler won't fit on the corsair dominator ram cause of it's heatsink already on the ram.
  21. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,478 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    See, I want lower voltage and I would sacrifice speed for low latencies and lower voltage, which is why DDR3 is appealing to me. I guess I'll be waiting a while for that, a compromise has to come somewhere and I'd rather lose the speed than have a higher voltage. That's just me, I wants a green machine. :rockout:
  22. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    Why do they keep shooting themselves in the foot with these WORTHLESS high freaquency modules?

    Doesn't anybody understand that the RAM bandwidth is directly limited by the FSB? There is yet a 700Mhz FSB, so anything above 1400Mhz is USELESS.
  23. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,830 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    That's not really how it works, but yeah it is limited by the fsb. AMD will be adopting ddr3 soon and intel will be moving over to qpi and eliminate the fsb, which is when sticks like this will really be useful.
  24. steelkane

    steelkane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,367 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    I just wonder when there going to change the fans on the cooler, it's so boring looking, no Leds, & really poor CFM. I mean that thing wouldn't cool off my ball on a hot summer day.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page