1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Announces Shipment of Force Series GT Solid-State Drives

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Corsair, a worldwide designer and supplier of high-performance components to the PC gaming hardware market, today announced the first shipments of the Force Series GT line of solid-state drives.

    The new Force Series GT is designed for enthusiasts who demand the fastest performance available. It uses the new SandForce SF-2280 SSD Processor, with native support for SATA 6Gb/s (SATA 3), combined with ONFI synchronous flash memory. Force Series GT SSDs deliver outstanding read/write performance and significantly faster system response, boot times, and application load times than SATA 2 solid-state drives, with out-of-box performance of up to 85K Random Write IOPS, read speeds of up to 555 MB/s, and write speeds of up to 525 MB/s. The use of synchronous flash memory makes the Force GT Series particularly adept at reading and writing non-compressible data, such as video and music files.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    All Force Series GT models are also backward compatible with SATA 2, and include an easy-to-use 3.5" adapter for use in both notebook and desktop PCs.

    "With the rapid adoption of systems with SATA 3 support, enthusiasts are demanding SSDs that can push the limit of SATA 3 bandwidth," said Thi La, Vice President of Memory Products at Corsair. "The new Force Series GT line delivers amazing speed under the most demanding conditions, making them ideal for high-performance systems."

    Force Series GT SSDs are currently shipping to Corsair's network of authorized distributors and retailers worldwide and will be available in July at a US suggested retail price of $149 USD for the 60GB model and $279 USD for the 120GB model.
  2. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,474 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,098
    Wow, those prices are getting better all the time.


    Obligitory "I need 8TB of SSD for my OS" comment :p
    hellrazor and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  3. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    Well unless there is a delay with the 60Gb models being released like the force 3 60Gb models I may just pick up one of these and be happy for a little while. Can't wait tim summers end and to have my update done. :)
  4. arterius2

    Joined:
    May 21, 2011
    Messages:
    491 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    is this just the same as a Corsair Force 3 with synchronous NAND? the sequential read/write and random write IOPS are exactly the same as a Force 3(which was recently recalled).
  5. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,862 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    Last thread LOL
  6. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Can't wait to get my hands on one or maybe 2 of these!:eek:
  7. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    looks pretty good! might consider to get one for gf :L
  8. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,192 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    418
    ^lmao
  9. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Wow impressive, thouse pricses with this speed.
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I need to echo everyone elses sentiments with the low prices especially on the new controllers. Love the AMD Red too ;)
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    If you are putting just your OS on an SSD you're doing it wrong.:slap:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    -1
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Wow! A press release with prices? At least somebody out there is listening. lol.
  14. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,862 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    -2
  15. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    I agree with newtekie. I want all of my progs and games on there too.
  16. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    why were they recalled ?:wtf:
    i wouldn't have minded getting one, but my new pc was recently rma'd so i can't get one just yet ,as this old gal only has a sata 1 controller scary.gif
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    Yep, exactly. It is kind of pointless to pay more than $2/GB just for Windows to boot 15 seconds faster, then all the programs still load at the same speed...

    And hell, my steam folder alone is 45GB, so the 60GB drive would just be big enough to fit Windows and my Steam apps, and nothing more...:shadedshu
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. dr emulator (madmax)

    dr emulator (madmax)

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,241 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    the uk that's all you need to know ;)
    dammit i've just looked and theirs only one place that seems to carry this drive :twitch: and it's in germany :cry:

    and it's 267 euros here:shadedshu :ohwell:
  19. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    I have a 64gb SSD... i installed Windows, photoshop CS5, After Effects, Premiere Pro, Lightroom, Traktor Pro2, Ableton Live... all the benchmarking usual softwares, Antivirus & Anti spywares... all the drivers and programs for my cameras, printers and devices etc...

    And I have 22GB free!!!

    My Steam folder is installed on my 1TB raid so iot takes up no space:
    https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=7710-tdlc-0426

    Plenty of space for me, and all my programs are loaded FAST of the 64gb SSD :)
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    Yep, and they run just as slow as if they were on a standard HDD because the project data that the program has to access and manipulate is on a standard HDD.

    Oh, and not all of your programs load fast, any games you want to play load just as slow as a standard machine with a standard HDD because they are on a standard HDD. The primary purpose of my computer is games, so putting a tiny ass SSD in a machine just so Windows loads faster is doesn't help me on bit. I can wait the 30 seconds it takes Windows to load, I really can. My Steam folder alone is 45GB, and that isn't including all the games that aren't Steam games installed on my system. Brink is another 5GB, GTA:IV is another 15GB:eek:, Metro2033 is another 7GB, Mafia II is another 6GB. Not to mention the adobe suite taking another 8GB on top of that.

    So for me, it isn't plenty of space, not all of my programs would fit on a small SSD. I know, I had a 64GB SSD. A week or two after installing it, when I reached the point where I had to uninstall a game from it before installing the next, I went "well if I have to uninstall and reinstall games each time I want to play something different, there isn't really any time savings is there" and I sold the stupid thing. For me 250GB would be the absolute minimum SSD size that would work for me, and I'm sure that is true of most gamers. And for the price for 250GB right now, I'd rather just put a bunch of Momentus XT drives in RAID0.
    erixx says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    lol whatever dude... for me its made a massive difference... the only things that load off my old mechanical drive is the steam folder and ive never had a problem with slow loading games ;)

    The OS and all my programs are on the SSD with room to spare.

    But yeah, wait another 4 years till you can get a 1TB SSD, in the mean time ill cash in on the £80 SSD im using thats changed my PC in a big way :)
  22. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,881 (2.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    UK
    my steam folder has reached 125gb and thats almost guaranteed to get bigger this week due to the steam sale, that + my non steam games = ~200gb alone, due to that i filled up a 250gb hard drive last week and had to upgrade to a 1TB, by the time 250GB SSD's are cheap, i'll probably need somewhere around 300-400gb just for OS+Games
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Again, I'm with Newtekie. I took an 80GB Intel SSD for a spin. Didn't like it. I couldn't put my games on it. I still had to put them on my 320GBx2 RAID0 array, so they didn't load any faster. I want my games to load faster too, not just my OS, Office and a few productivity apps.

    I would happily RAID a couple of SSDs to get the storage I need, but then you lose TRIM, and thus longevity.

    I'll just save up until I can get what I want, and deal with my OS and productivity apps loading a little slower in the meantime.
  24. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    Yeah, I think I can handle waiting the 6 seconds it takes for Photoshop to open, the 10 seconds it takes Premier Pro to open, and the 1 second or less it takes to Word/Excel/Access/PowerPoint to open on my machine.(Yes, those really are the times it takes those programs to open on my main rig off the standard HDD.) If you need an SSD to accelerate these apps, you're doing it wrong, and really I don't think you would notice the difference either...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Game loading times are minimally affected by using an SSD... and in some cases it dosent make a difference atall.

    Heres some benchmark reviews/links to look at:

    http://www.anandtech.com/show/2614/14
    http://www.anandtech.com/show/2527/8
    http://www.1up.com/do/blogEntry?bId=8998325

    Anyways, if its such an important thing to have your games on an SSD, then get a 128gb SSD solely for your games folder and a 64gb SSD for your OS... thatll cost around £200 for both... You can still use your mechanical drives for Mass storage.

    The main visible difference is really with the OS and other programs loaded into the OS on that drive... the difference is phenominal and there really is no waiting around which makes going onto my work PC a real chore thesedays!

    Having your OS and pagefile on an SSD with low accesstimes makes a big difference in pretty much everything
    Chevalr1c says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page