1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Breaks World Record for Dual-Channel Memory on AMD Phenom II

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 13, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Corsair, a worldwide supplier of high-performance computer and flash memory products, today announced that the Corsair Dominator GTX4 ultra-high-performance memory module has achieved a new world record for dual-channel memory frequency on AMD processors.

    Using an AMD Phenom II X6 Black Edition CPU, Corsair Hydro Series H50 CPU cooler, and a pair of Corsair Dominator GTX4 memory DIMMs with Airflow memory fan, Corsair Labs was able to achieve the world-record memory frequency of 2287.6MHz. Independent validation of this achievement can be found here.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    “The new Phenom II X6 CPUs offer a quantum leap in overclockability for the AMD platform,” stated Jim Carlton, VP of Marketing at Corsair. “The combination of the new CPU core and Corsair’s most aggressively sorted DIMMs results in some truly amazing memory performance.”

    Key components used in setting this record include the following:
    • AMD Phenom II X6 1095T Black Edition CPU
    • Asus Crosshair IV Formula Motherboard
    • 4GB Corsair Dominator GTX4 memory (2 DIMMs)
    • Corsair Hydro Series H50 CPU Cooler
    • Corsair Nova Series V64 SSD
    • NVIDIA GeForce 6600GT GPU
    • Corsair Professional Series 850HX PSU
    Complete details regarding the test setup, methods, and results can be found here. For more information on Corsair Dominator GTX memory, please visit this page.
    WarEagleAU and fatguy1992 say thanks.
  2. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    UK South
    excellent work corsair, i do want a 1095T but think i hold out until bulldozer,but why the 6600gt seems like buying a ferrari and putting caravan wheels on it.
  3. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,817 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    nice over clock

    but is it just me or is that pi a little slow? i do mine in like 17sec. and i got slower stuff or am i looking at it wrong
  4. Initialised

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    264 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    20 LinX and 24 Hours Prime Blend and 12 Hours MemTest or it doesn't count.

    1095T is what my ES 1055T shows up as.
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,767
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Northbridge speed is almost MORE important than raw mhz. 9-12-9 sucks. I'd take 900mhz CAS6 first.
    But, after reading this, I am very happy. Not every cpu can do this(but at least 3 others can), so they are really highlighting how useless this mem is for AM3...


    Pretty bold to claim, to have found the IMC limitation...that sounds like a challenge, to me!
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,928 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,356
    intel was always faster in Pi than AMD.

    it wasnt because AMD were slower chips, they were just slower at Pi for whatever reason.
    WarEagleAU and Delta6326 say thanks.
  7. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    2500 = new ceiling, not 18XX its not just the chip.
  8. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    UK South
    Super pi is optimized for Intel and means very little kind of like 3dmark vantage and ati, its very good for testing memory stability tho.
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Not just Pi. AMD chips are known to be slower in most popular math benchmarks, be it from SANDRA, Geekbench, Fritz Chess, or Everest. It's up to the mark only in Sciencemark.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,928 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,356
    superpi is very good for comparing stock vs OC'd and so on, just not for comparing between CPU types.
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    SuperPi is a math test, just like Prime, Sin-Julia, and so on. Results can be used to compare across CPU types as well, like most CPU reviewers do.
    Makaveli says thanks.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,928 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,356
    yeah but if one architecture is superior at that test, its an unfair comaprison. Its fine as part of a range of tests, but should not be considered purely on its own.
  13. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No, that's flawed logic. If one architecture is superior in a broad range of math tests, it's just superior at math performance. As long as both architectures are able to run the tests, the grounds are even.
  14. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    agree now we are just designing chips to beat a test. no thanx. benching software isnt scrutinized enough either its taken for granted.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,928 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,356
    well yes, but dont take it as OVERALL performance. dont assume intel is better for gaming, just because it whups AMD in calculating pi to over 9000 digits.

    the question asked was 'why does that score look low?' the answer was cause its faster on intel.
  16. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I never referred to overall performance. My argument is limited to math performance. AMD processors are traditionally known to have weaker floating point units than Intel.
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,928 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,356
    and i was never talking purely about FPU/math performance.

    case closed.
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Let me refresh your memory, you were talking about SuperPi, and how different brands of processors perform in it, and how performance at SuperPi cannot be compared between different brands of processors. That notion is incorrect.

    Case closed.
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,928 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,356
    it can be COMPARED, certainly. but its apples vs oranges.

    anyway, staff bickering should be avoided on the forums :) lets get it back on topic.
  20. Kitkat New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    768 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    u 2 are funny. I like turtles.
  21. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Can game frame-rates be compared between systems with Intel and AMD processors? Yes (game tests in CPU reviews); then yes you can compare math performance (like most CPU reviewers do).
  22. demonkevy666 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    31 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    at those rams speeds you would need about 6.4ghz cores just o make use of the 4.5ghz Nbs speed for that ram speed of 2.2ghz.
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,743 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,767
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Exactly, and even under LN2, you'll barely need that. 6.4ghz and 4.5NB isn't exactly an easy thing. I mean..it's CAS9, FFS. They are running 2800mhz NB. 3600mhz NB and 900MHZ CAS6ram will probably perform better. 1150mhz ram is cool and all, but only those going for WR might be interested in buying(and few of those, even). They probably know that though.
  24. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    742 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    also it works with L2/L3 cache
    correct me if i'm wrong
    I heard that once
  25. Assimilator

    Assimilator

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2005
    Messages:
    579 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Nice overclock, but those memory timings are horrific; this RAM isn't much use unless you're going to be pushing it to 2500MHz every day.

    As for Super PI - my Yorkfield is a generation behind but manages to do 1M in under 13 sec (50% faster than a 6-core Phenom, and with 50% fewer cores) - my CPU has triple the L2 cache of the Phenom as well! I've never understood why AMD skimps on cache, it seems such a waste...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page