1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Carbide 400R

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by Darksaber, Aug 28, 2011.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,616 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    782
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 30, 2011
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Pun not intended ;)

    Great review for a great case!
  3. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,355 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    So sexy, but why?! This case looks like a great alternative for someone who can't afford those expensive cases with all the bells and whistles. Glad they finally did way with the USB 2.0 ports, seeing as 3.0 is backwards compatible, it's a smart move. I for 1, will be waiting on their 500R. Can't wait!!
  4. Rowsol

    Rowsol

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    566 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Not a fan of the lip on the front top.
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,400 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,094
    Would be cool if it was an HDD bay there or something tho.
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,474 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Quick question. In the Pro's listing you typed: New and unique locking mechanism for ODDs

    Then in the body your reaction is different:

    On top of that are the four external drive bays with the same screws-less system we have seen in other Corsair cases as well. it consists of solid plastic clips which work rather well.

    Any feedback to this?
  7. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    260
    Sigh, another Corsair case without filters. Really I like their designs but without dust filters there is no way I'd buy one around here.
  8. Jonap_1st

    Jonap_1st New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    288 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    South Green Jakarta
    corsair just gives me another orgasm..

    $100 case with excellent build quality, very good cable management, and 2 x USB 3.0. what else do you want?

    dust problem? you can buy dust filter with just couple dollars, if there's a dirt and you too lazy to clean it up with vacum. find a blower ; i can clean my pc with it no more than 15 minutes..
  9. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    Not sure if I like the extruded look . . . but lots of great features for this price-point. I just wish it had the same sleek styling of the 700D and 800D.

    Also, what's up with that ugly chunk at the top-front? Is that a drive-bay?

    Oh, and as others have said, front and side fan filters would be nice, but those are fairly cheap to purchase.
  10. TotalChaos

    TotalChaos New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    737 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    590
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2011
  11. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,355 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    394
    The case I have in my specs have dust filters that came with it. Already integrated into the case themselves and I can take them out clean them, and put them back in without a hiccup. The problem with purchasing filters is that you have to find the right ones, which can be a chore. You have to worry about screwing them in, then when its cleaning time screw them out, etc. With the ones I have, all you have to do is pull them out clean put back in with no tooling necessary. Corsair's Graphite 600T has integrated filters like these and look easy to remove and clean. We shouldn't be burdened with having to buy filters to keep our cases clean, that is the company's job. I think any case thats $100 and up should all have filters, but that's just my opinion :D

    edit: It seems that the Carbide 500R includes dust filters, but don't know how many and at which locations.

    edit 2: Newegg just listed both the 400R and 500R.

    400R
    Corsair Carbide Series 400R Graphite grey and blac...

    500R white
    Corsair Carbide Series 500R White Steel structure ...

    500R black
    Corsair Carbide Series 500R Black Steel structure ...
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2011
    theJesus says thanks.
  12. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,962 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    858
    Location:
    Ohio
    Oooh, I didn't realize there was a 500R. I'll have to check that out.
  13. Reefer86

    Reefer86

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    UK
    That said: watch out big players in the sub $100 market - the Carbide 400R may be the underdog, but packs quite the punch!

    which cases are we talking about here as im in the look out for a case but would be awesome if you could point me in what others i might find interesting. this looks good for me with the 240 rad up top and 120 in the back, are there others which could offer this at this price point?
  14. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    This is the perfect(almost) case for poor people like me who get most of the stuff seen in high-end cases but with a really low price but will an NH-D14 of H100 fit inside this case?
  15. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    I hope a review will come out soon
  16. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Darksaber tested it with a Prolimatech SuperMega, which measures at 158.7mm high. The NH-D14 stands a teeny bit taller at 160 mm (should fit just fine). As far as the H100, it looks like the top fan mounts were pretty much tailor-made for it (and it would surprise me if it weren't compatible, being a Corsair product).

    Also, give the "Multi-Quote" button a test drive to avoid double-posting :)
  17. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    I have watched a video review on youtube and they said it only has room for 15mm rads and the H100 is 27mm thick plus the fans. But anyways, corsair should have made sure that their coolers should fit in their cases.

    As with the Prolimatech, were the 2 side panel fans on the case when it was tested?
  18. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    You may be right with the H100 and rad thickness. The mobo looks really pushed to the roof, and what would probably end up interfering would be the edge of the DIMM slots, 8-pin power, and MOSFET coolers.

    As you can see in this picture, DS didn't test with side panel fans on. I don't think you would want side panel fans attached with a big tower CPU cooler anyway.
  19. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Dang. Corsair should have made this case compatible with their coolers. I hope the 500R should be able to take the H100 with no problems.

    The lower 120mm fan could still be used though based on the picture.
  20. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,474 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
  21. Jack Doph

    Jack Doph

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    Upright down-under (Brisbane, Australia)
    The H100 fits just fine in that case - that's how Corsair designed it ;)
    Corsair's link
    OC3D's review

    Or.. just like sneeky said XD
    Last edited: Oct 13, 2011
  22. specks

    specks New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    441 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Thats nice to see.

    Just watched the review and there is very little gap from the fans and the ram clips and the mosfet cooler. Just gotta make sure your mobo wont interfere with the h100.
  23. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    I had a bit of an issue like that with my 600T SE and my ECS P67 board. I had to buy a thin rad, and stealth mount the fans under the top mesh in order for them to fit. I have about 3mm of clearance between my rad and the MOSFET cooler.
  24. kg4icg

    kg4icg

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    102 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Herndon,Va
    I for 1 appreciate that big openning up on the top side of the case. That's where my H100 is mounted.
  25. tedy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2005
    Messages:
    46 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page