1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Dominator Airflow Fan.. Does it worth ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by kiriakost, Feb 2, 2009.

  1. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    I am thinking for a memory cooler .
    The Corsair Dominator looks nice , but there is also other solutions.

    How do you value this cooler , in comparison with other solutions ?

    Price - noise - performance ?

    Thanks.
     
  2. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    if i saw it when i got my ocz ram cooler i would of gotten that one
     
  3. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I've owned the cooler and it's quiet and performance is good. I'm now using the OCZ cooler and no noise difference really, but I prefer the OCZ due to blue LED's.
     
  4. SeanG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Does the corsair cooler fit any memory or does it even attach to the memory?
     
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,394 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,866
    Location:
    US
    No it attaches to the clips that help to hold the memory in.


    I use 2 of them and their all right if the ram is not to tall for the cooler to fit over them.
     
  6. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,091 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,851
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=28283

    Been a long time since I dug up that thread, but yes the Dominator XMS Airflow does a damn fine job, I still have mine but I found my current G.Skill kits of 2x2GB run so cool there was no use, Though I still have some G.Skill HZ that I keep cool with that when they're in use. But even an 80mm fan on your vid card aimed at the ram/chipset area does help a ton...also depends on airflow in your case, if you have a fan in the side already moving air in that area it might not be as big of a difference. When I made that thread it was in a Aspire X-Cruiser case, and it had way less airflow than my current Antec 900.

    :toast:
     
  7. mrw1986

    mrw1986

    Joined:
    May 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    338
    Location:
    Wallingford, CT
    Love my Corsair RAM Fan! I use it with my G.Skill PI and it works flawlessly!
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,786 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,313
    I have had my cooler since the days of my DDR500 tracers, with those babys being pushed over 3 volts they got really toasty. the Dominator fan worked wonders for them, I just kept using it since, from habit.

    Had to make a quick ninja edit due to mrw posting the same thing.
     
  9. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Its true that the OCZ looks far better , but now i had realize that the Corsair Dominator ,
    could possibly interfere with my hard drives .

    So i would need a lower profile cooler than that .

    Did any one do, any home made solutions as ram cooler ?
     
  10. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    8,091 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,851
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Well if you want a quick and simple solution as I suggested an 80mm fan sitting on the back of the vid card aimed at the NB/Mem area works quite well also, but if it's not secured it can move around if the case is bumped.

    You could also use an Antec Spot Cool, in a friends' rig he wanted to use it for that and chipset cooling, it performed quite well, we attatched it to a ground screw at the top of an antec900 near the large top exhaust fan, worked very well.

    Unless your harddrives cover your ram slots they should not interfere with the ram cooler though, the Corsair is large enough to cover 4 DIMMS, but then again I guess it would depend on what kind of "special model" case you have too. :D

    :toast:
     
  11. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,265 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Don't know about the Corsair, but I have this Crab.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835119011

    My first one I bought it from cdawall. Initially it look like disco lights in my home office but later i started to like it as it lits up my whole room and cools my ram too. Now i bought one more to put on another PC in my bedroom and that too lits up blue/red he he
     
  12. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    :laugh: :laugh:

    I got a bigger Crab. :D

    Well the case are large , but my MB are truly large too.
    I wanted an easy ready solution, but the size was a big obstacle.
    Also i hate the 40mm fans.

    So end up to use this fan , that was part of one old P3 copper cooler.
    ( By the way i have just realize , that was aluminum painted as copper ) :eek:

    Any way , i got my earthy solution. :laugh:
    This fan its a good one 70mm, i have add one resistor on it, to limit the power at 7.5V,
    that way does a good job at minimum noise.



    .
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 2, 2009
  13. Exavier

    Exavier New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    982 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Bath, UK
    would have said you don't need it unless you're pushing 2.5 or more..
    but I do have the Corsair offering just in case..
     
  14. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Thanks friend , i found it too on ebay UK, for 8 pounds.

    But i realized that i do not have the space for it.

    But thanks .
     
  15. Ramo1203

    Ramo1203

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    108 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Unless you are doing some heavy OC'ing, the usefulness of these small fans isn't great I think.
     
  16. kiriakost

    kiriakost New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,054 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Volos, Greece
    Well i have another issue , my MB has stability issues with four memory modules loaded.
    So i have to overvolt them, so to keep low latency and stability .
     
  17. Baer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    78 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    California, on the BEACH
    For me it works and works well. It also seems to keep the dust out of the memory fins.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page