1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CORSAIR H60 Question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by CrackerJack, Apr 1, 2011.

  1. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,701 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    East TN
    I'm planning on doing water cooling in the near future. Only parts I'm wanted cooled is CPU and possible GPU. And I have little knowledge on water cooling terms and setups. So the question is... Is H60 worth ~$80? Will I see a big drop in temp? ATM on air cooling and stock speed, I idle at ~40c and high ~55c. I've OC the chip before to 3.6Ghz with decent temp. I would like to push at least 4Ghz. So would the H60 allow me to do that?
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    CrackerJack says thanks.
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    OH man not another one ! While I am for water cooling you should just stay with air . so many people here will say the same thing it aint worth it . stick with what you have . it is too dangerous and complicated and hard to maintain !
  4. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,701 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    East TN
    dangerous is my middle name

    and besides believe it or not, compress air has been taking off the shelves in every store in my area. And this is something i've been wanting to do for awhile
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If all your looking after is CPU cooling, I say stick to your S1283 unless you decide you definitely want to add in the GPU.
    CrackerJack says thanks.
  6. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,701 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    East TN
    Alright I think I'll just wait till I can do the whole sha bang. :)

    Thanks guys
  7. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    Can always go cheaper and grab a pair of (better?) fans for the 1283 and see how much love that gives you;)
  8. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,701 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    East TN
    o yea i replace them on day 1 lol

    with this full speed
  9. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    well I was thinking, since those are already rated at 31+ dBA why not look for a pair of 100CFM fans at say 35 dBA? I'm looking for something as a reference.

    Maybe these? Scythe SY1225SL12SH 120mm "Slipstream" Case Fan Unless LEDs are a must.
    CrackerJack says thanks.
  10. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,701 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    447
    Location:
    East TN
    well at the time i bought those fans, i couldn't find any led fans :D i'm big on led (blue)
  11. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,453 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,967
    Only thing I see are Yale Loons that are 88CFM with blue LEDs:(
  12. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,981 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,861
    Ah dont let Trick scare you. I've been running water for about 2 yrs and never had a problem.
    My system is about as easy to maintain as a fan cooler. I use a filter pad I made myself and pull it out once a month to run it under water to rid the dust....As for adding water to my loop.. Never even needed a top up... its a sealed unit..

    As for the H60. Beware they may work but in time its going to get loud from the system getting air into it.
    CrackerJack says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page