1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Hydro Series H100 CPU Cooler

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by GreenD, Jun 5, 2012.

  1. GreenD

    GreenD New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    53 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Rockhampton
    im curious about the fan speed on my cooler, it has 3 options:
    1300 RPM (Low Noise)
    2000RPM (Balanced)
    2500RPM(Performance)

    My question is will setting this to the higher settings damage anything in the long run?

    Thanks
     
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,218 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,500
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Only your ears...:roll:


    For real. I cannot handle anything more than the low setting.
     
    GreenD says thanks.
  3. GreenD

    GreenD New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2012
    Messages:
    53 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia, Rockhampton
    I never really notice the noise :) my computer has a noise dampening compartment with fans in it on the side of my desk, lol built for that exact purpose
     
  4. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,161 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    For the love of God, for what they charge for these cheaply made sealed WC units, you'd think by now they'd put temp driven PWM fans on them. Corsair makes some good products, but they always cheap out when it comes to the fans they put on their cases and coolers. They're always loud, offer little static pressure, and don't automatically ramp up in speed.
     
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,218 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,500
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Actually, they do have a contorller built into the pump, but manual fan curve control is only available if you buy the add-on Corsair Link unit.
     
  6. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,885 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    PWM fans aren't nearly as effective as PWM pumps in a water cooling loop. By the time your fans rev up your water is already partially saturated with heat, and rads, especially of the sealed WC design, don't remove heat as easily as simply never getting hot to begin with. If you follow my train of thought. Not that your statement is false, I'd rather opt for good fans at a constant speed, though.
     
  7. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,161 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    766
    Partially saturated yes, but then the temp drops back down once the higher fan speed kicks in, vs your ears being constantly saturated with the fixed med or high speed setting. For constant speed I'll take a Silver Arrow any day over the sealed WC units.
     
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,218 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,500
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    This unit doesn't run a fixed speed for me? It scales according to water temps? Very poorly mind you ,but beleive me, I cannot fail to notice when it gets LOUDER!

    :laugh:


    Fan controller in pump has 4 PWM-based headers. Perhaps I'll try popping a couple of PWM fans in there and see how it works like that...


    Also worth noting that adding a seocnd pair of matched fans considerably lowers the noise the unit puts out...
     
  9. nleksan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Ohio
    You could get a PWM splitter cable and run the fans via MB BIOS with some boards allowing custom fan curves...
     
  10. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,605 (3.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,383
    You try resetting the firmware on the cooler Dave?

    1. While the computer is running, hold down the profile button for approximately five seconds
    2. Wait one minute, while the unit continues to run
    3. Shut down your computer
    4. Press and hold the profile button for five seconds while turning on the power to your computer
     
  11. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    Miami
    The fans may burn out faster, and you will get more dust in the case, but other than this no.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page