1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Hydro Series H50 Cooling Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by SonDa5, Sep 26, 2009.

  1. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    How will you join the H50 club with an Antec Kuhler 920? :D
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    Simple.... its made by asetek

  3. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Right, but it's a completely different line of coolers. There should be a generic "Self contained liquid cooling systems club", or a separate Antec club as it's branded by them. They share the same OEM but they are two different products.

    I just think it would be odd to be in a corsair H50/H70 club with an antec cooler, regardless of the fact that it's manufactured by the same people.

    However, it's not up to me. I would hold off for the H80 if I were you.
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    I can buy it. i just cant mount it
  5. douglatins

    douglatins

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    2,862 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    273
    Location:
    Brasil
    No KUHLER dudes cant join, though thread title should remove H50, since there are many variants now
    LordJummy says thanks.
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    oh well, might go start my own club then. Chow!!
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
  8. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    actually they made my temps worse by about 5-10'c

    switched the fans around and ran 30 runs of Metro2033 benchmark, all temps were recorded with Coretemp.

    Before switch:

    26'c ambient

    Coolant temp: Never over 33-35'c idle. Load: 40'c (never goes over 40'c unless ambient is really hot then maybe 41'c)

    CPU temp: 33-40'c idle. Load: between 60-65'c (dependant on ambient temperature)


    After switch:

    Coolant temp: 32'c idle Load: 45'c

    CPU temp: 35-40'c idle Load: 71-73'c

    Even after shut down. 10mins later with the case open, i can still feel the heat coming from the case.
  10. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Then you either have factors like ambient air temp, fan speed, temp of air in case, etc, that are affecting that. I get much better temps intaking air with both my full water setup, and my old H70. Maybe it's too warm in your room, or it's sucking up warm air from your cards? Hard to say...

    This is strange though. You should NOT get temps that different or high unless it's sucking super hot air in...
  11. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    I did say 2x6970's dump a serious amount of hot air!! (its in the diagram)

    and since my PC sits so close to the wall. the hot air was just sucked back in.

    I knew it was gonna happen but i thought id kill time and give it ago anyway so i can so i did it
  13. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    I understand that, I have dual 6970's on mine, and it doesn't affect any of the air intake. But then again the 800D has a lot of space in between the expansion slots and the rad spots. Also, I keep my ambient air temp really cool. You need to adjust your computer spot, or just keep the exhaust. The temps look fine, so I wouldn't worry about running intake.
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (5.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,184
    your 800D is also a full ATX tower.

    Mines just a mid tower 902. so its obviously a little more cramped with worser airflow as i cant have as many fans like its big brother the 1200 attached.

    been meaning to go back to full ATX for a while. Im surprised i managed to 2 6970s in here. you cant put them in straight on, you have to put them inside the case at an angle before you slot them in otherwise they just wont fit inside the case.
  15. LordJummy

    LordJummy New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,406 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    US of A
    Yep. I can't work with anything less than a full tower these days. I actually use a 1200 for my other main computer at home, which is a great case still. Mine is a bit customized, and pushes so much air it's ridiculous.
  16. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,859 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    My H50 has started making a noise like the sound of a wire hitting a fan. Ideas, comments?
  17. hertz9753

    hertz9753

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,076 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    468
    Location:
    Bismarck, ND
    Sounds like the bearing is going out in your fan. Corsair only used a sleeve bearing in the included fan.
    thebluebumblebee says thanks.
  18. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,859 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,403
    Oh, should have said it before, the sound is coming from the pump. CPU temp is higher than it used to be.
  19. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    common sense tells me your pump is dying.
  20. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    You can toss me into the list. I actually just installed my H50 yesterday. It doesn't have the fan that came with it but it has 2 skythes push/pull. I forgot to see what my temps were before but I'm getting 34c on my PH II x4 940 crunchin 24/7. I'll get a few pics when ever I get around to it lol.
  21. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    Heres my H50. Just got around to gettin a pic.

    [​IMG]
    Radical_Edward says thanks.
  22. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    hey there fello corsair users. got a question for anyone:

    When I put my corsair h50 on my new board (gig 990FXA-UD7), I have no temp sensors. I've heard you have to reset something in bios but don't know what. I checked in several apps (hwmonitor, sppedfan, bios iirc, core temp) they all show temp at 0*c. I know thats not right.

    Anyone know how to fix this so I can monitor temps. I do crunching 24/7 and I need to be aware of temps.

    Thanks
  23. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Your H50 might be screwed down too tight. I've seen that happen with coolers before.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,410 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,974
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    check to see if unleashed mode or ACC is turned on. if so, turn them off cause they cause the temp sensors to stop working.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. popswala

    popswala New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,294 (1.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    957
    Location:
    Conway, AR
    I'll check that out. I know it was a lil funky getting it on in the first place. I had the ring mounted then had to back it off to get the pump in there and lock into place. Then I went around with the screwdriver and got them snug. I didn't think it was over tightened but I'll have a look see.

    Your talkin in bios right? Any idea where as I don't recall seeing them.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page