1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Readying 16 GB 4-piece DDR2 Memory Kit

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 14, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    31,317 (10.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,523
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Memory (and power supply) specialist Corsair is dressing up a new 4-module DDR2-800 kit, consisting of four 4 GB modules (16 GB in all). Carrying the model number QUAD2X16GB-6400, this kit uses a new heatspreader design Corsair has been using lately. The modules are screened for high-reliability. At 800 MHz, this kit may seem like a late-Kate into the market, but might use its module density as a selling-point. Corsair seeks an estimated 83,000 Yen (US $867?) for this kit. We admit, the price looks on the higher side, but are awaiting clarity on May 16, when the company officially announces it.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Kakaku.com
     
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    31,317 (10.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,523
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Many Thanks to Duncan1 for sending this in.
     
    Duncan1 says thanks.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    22,187 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,096
    A lot of people still running DRR2 that are going to want to upgrade, but I doubt for $800...

    Though the people who will actually see a benefit from that much RAM are probably used to it by now.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    Yea that is not going to be use alot for a home PC... that amount of RAM is useless for normal purposes
     
  5. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,350 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
  6. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,112 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    Location:
    Kansas
    For that amount of money, I'd just go i7.:laugh:
     
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,738 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    789
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Yeah, if you can get by with only 12GB.... ;)

    Time to bring on the 4GB DDR3!
     
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,454 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    998
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    too bad its not 2 x 8gb sticks, it would have wonderful if it was and as stated in my board's specs by ECS I can load up freaking 32GB ram and a Phenom II @ 3 ghz and run a whole company's servers lol.

    crap with I7, more mem = more virtual servers :rockout:

    I will never run out of memory on my box :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. method526

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    looks interesting. i saw these listed on newegg for like $640ish (i forgot but it's listed there...yet it's on auto-notify).
     
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Lets see some sweet DDR3 kits corsair! Their DDR3 line up is pretty lame..
     
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,449 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,222
    Location:
    04578
    id love to have that kit in all honesty it would make Zbrush work and Maya run a HELL of a lot better haha
     
  12. icon1

    icon1

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    112 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Northside Q.C.
    hmm, good ram kit high capacity but price is also high..

    for that amount of money ($800) i could get a better upgrade rather than this.
     
  13. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    534 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I swear the image looks almost paint brushed, its too clear and flat to be a photo amirite?

    oh and,
    Holy smokes! 16GB :eek: I just wet myself a little :wtf:
     
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Could well be a company photoshopping or CAD drawing of the RAM. I do admit though it doesn't look like a very good label.
     
  15. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,350 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    :roll: :roll:

    You all need to stop looking at the newegg site! The price has already gone up 60 bucks since I posted it earlier. :roll: :roll:
     
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,205 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    663
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    agree , pay 800$ for DDR2 800 no logic , maybe if will be an ECC rams for servers
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)