1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Readying 16 GB 4-piece DDR2 Memory Kit

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 14, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Memory (and power supply) specialist Corsair is dressing up a new 4-module DDR2-800 kit, consisting of four 4 GB modules (16 GB in all). Carrying the model number QUAD2X16GB-6400, this kit uses a new heatspreader design Corsair has been using lately. The modules are screened for high-reliability. At 800 MHz, this kit may seem like a late-Kate into the market, but might use its module density as a selling-point. Corsair seeks an estimated 83,000 Yen (US $867?) for this kit. We admit, the price looks on the higher side, but are awaiting clarity on May 16, when the company officially announces it.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Kakaku.com
  2. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,233 (11.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,580
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Many Thanks to Duncan1 for sending this in.
    Duncan1 says thanks.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,705 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,862
    A lot of people still running DRR2 that are going to want to upgrade, but I doubt for $800...

    Though the people who will actually see a benefit from that much RAM are probably used to it by now.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    Yea that is not going to be use alot for a home PC... that amount of RAM is useless for normal purposes
  5. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,113 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
  6. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    For that amount of money, I'd just go i7.:laugh:
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,395 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Yeah, if you can get by with only 12GB.... ;)

    Time to bring on the 4GB DDR3!
  8. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,070 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    too bad its not 2 x 8gb sticks, it would have wonderful if it was and as stated in my board's specs by ECS I can load up freaking 32GB ram and a Phenom II @ 3 ghz and run a whole company's servers lol.

    crap with I7, more mem = more virtual servers :rockout:

    I will never run out of memory on my box :D
  9. method526 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    377 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairfax, Virginia
    looks interesting. i saw these listed on newegg for like $640ish (i forgot but it's listed there...yet it's on auto-notify).
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Lets see some sweet DDR3 kits corsair! Their DDR3 line up is pretty lame..
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    id love to have that kit in all honesty it would make Zbrush work and Maya run a HELL of a lot better haha
  12. icon1

    icon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    113 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Northside Q.C.
    hmm, good ram kit high capacity but price is also high..

    for that amount of money ($800) i could get a better upgrade rather than this.
  13. qwerty_lesh

    qwerty_lesh

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    532 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I swear the image looks almost paint brushed, its too clear and flat to be a photo amirite?

    oh and,
    Holy smokes! 16GB :eek: I just wet myself a little :wtf:
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Could well be a company photoshopping or CAD drawing of the RAM. I do admit though it doesn't look like a very good label.
  15. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,113 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    565
    :roll: :roll:

    You all need to stop looking at the newegg site! The price has already gone up 60 bucks since I posted it earlier. :roll: :roll:
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    agree , pay 800$ for DDR2 800 no logic , maybe if will be an ECC rams for servers

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page