1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair RM Series 750 W

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by crmaris, Oct 17, 2013.

  1. crmaris

    crmaris Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    536
    Location:
    Greece
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 14, 2013
  2. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,064 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    Just filling in some random info regarding Chicony as the name is very very familiar to me and even more so when I visit family in Hong Kong.

    Chicony aren't really a new company and have been around for a long long time and have been making shitty PSUs OEMs used to give you with your Pentium 1, 2 & 3's back in the old days mainly under the name 'HiPro'

    from what i can find, Chicony have a few PSUs out but mainly in the extreme budget section. They do have PSUs under their own name ranging from 300-750w but since they dont really ship outside Asia, there arent that many reviews available and what reviews are available are very old and date back 5years or longer,

    Generally, reviews aren't very positive, but aren't death defyingly bad either. One of the reviews i managed to dig up on JonnyGuru said the caps used in stage 2 of the power supply were questionable.

    Long story short....

    While Chicony are more synonymous with making computer peripherals in Asia rather than top of the range PSUs. I am very weary of them and people who buy this PSU as well as any PSU thats made by Chicony should approach these PSUs with caution and try not to stress them out too much

    Thank you Crmaris for the review, but I think Id rather steer clear.


    Just because a Manufacturer has been making PSUs since the dark ages, doesn't actually mean they're any good at it.
     
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,915 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,436
    Well, things change. They might have stepped up their game?
     
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,064 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,438
    Upto you if you wanna risk your hardware, but there are a huge choice of OEMs which make great PSUs to choose from.

    Rather go with a tried and tested rather than be walking into a potential trap.

    Chicony are well known in Asia, China's population eclipses both the UK & US populations even together. we are talking over 1 billion compared to around 400 million, And yet - there are still a lack of reviews?

    Im sure there are enough enthusiasts in China to write hardware reviews.
     
  5. crmaris

    crmaris Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    536
    Location:
    Greece
    The PSU didn't have a problem passing my tests, which are really tough (I have witnessed multiple explosions of branded units so far). So I don't think it will explode like a cheapo unit. After all Corsair isn't so stupid to spoil their good name with a bad PSU and on top of that lose tons of money since they provide 5 years warranty to it.

    BUT I strongly disagree with the caps choice in the secondary side, so on the long run I don't know if the unit will retain its good performance or/and if it will have any reliability problems. But Corsair says that they tested the platform and the caps and they will be fine.

    For me Chicony isn't the problem because the design and the build is ok. The Ltec caps are and the fact that the fan engages late are the most worrying probs on this unit.
     
    micropage7 says thanks.
  6. Rowsol

    Rowsol

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    615 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Pocomoke, MD
    The fan didn't turn on until 450w? That's pretty cool shit yo.
     
  7. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,212
    Thanks for the review, and imo this is a good psu for the cost.

    And your comment about the caps... really a cap is a cap. They are all shit imho.
     
  8. thebluebumblebee

    thebluebumblebee

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,867
  9. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,915 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,436
    :wtf:
     
  10. crmaris

    crmaris Reviewer

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    508 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    536
    Location:
    Greece
  11. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,553 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Hi, I've just received notice I won a RM-1000 PSU in a corsair giveaway - wohooo :p

    Can you give me your opinion whether it makes sense to replace my TX750V2 with this one ? I generally run a single GPU setup, maybe this new PSU is a good motivation for an upgrade since my hardware is starting to be out of date.
     
  12. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,388 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,245
    Location:
    Oregon
    The RM is modular so I would replace this TX with the RM. But other than that the TX750 is a fine PSU
     
  13. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,174 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,438
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i agree, any components that put inside of it, it must be passed good quality control. well known and worldwide brand wont risk their reputation by using crappy components coz if theres something happen to their product and the world knows that they use crappy components, it will ruin all.
     
  14. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,553 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    Yeah, thats what im wondering if its not just a waste to put it into my computer, I have 560Ti and I will most likely upgrade to another single GPU like GTX770
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page