1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair Sets New Overclocking World Record

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 23, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,240 (11.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,583
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Corsair, a worldwide designer and supplier of high-performance components to the PC gaming hardware market, today announced that it has set a new world record with a memory frequency of 1733.8MHz (DDR3-3467) using Corsair Dominator GT CMGTX6 extreme-performance DDR3 memory.

    World champion overclocker and Corsair employee Jake "Planet" Crimmins set the new record at Corsair's laboratory with a custom-designed, liquid nitrogen cooled PC based on an AMD FX-8150 processor and equipped with 1GB of Dominator GT extreme-performance DDR3 memory. The system was powered by a Corsair Professional Series Gold AX1200 fully modular power supply.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    "Breaking overclocking world records requires skill, ingenuity, and the right equipment," said Jake Crimmins. "I've broken several records using Dominator GT memory. It's reliable, it has amazing headroom, and it's never let me down." Validation can be found here, and details of the record here. A related blog post on the Corsair Blog can be read here.
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  2. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    Impressive
  3. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,823 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    WOW! 1GB! can it run crysis lol jk they should try it with 4-8GB :p
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,810
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    was GTX6 sticks, so 1GB per stick, 2625 MHz stock, 9-11-10-30 timings, 1.65v(ultra-high bin PSC):

    [​IMG]

    was probably maxmem set to 1GB is Windows, ran as a dual pair?

    Attached Files:

  5. kikicoco1334

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    183 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    dear sweet baby jesus
  6. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,889 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    621
    Location:
    Rochester area
    /me is not impressed
    call me when they have 4GB of 3Ghz ram at decent timings
  7. hhumas

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    551 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Islamabad
    it can be easily broken by g skill ripjaws
  8. kiddagoat

    kiddagoat

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    199 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Ripjaws are piss poor RAM.... at least Corsair is quality.
  9. nINJAkECIL

    nINJAkECIL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Then prove it.Showed it to us that u r not just talk.
  10. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,135 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    I wouldnt go as far to say that.Ive had far more quality memory that was gskill than corsair. Infact the only "good" memory from Corsair is dominators if you get the right kit.

    But dave the picture shows two sticks but cpu-z is showing 1GB? 2 x 512 is what im thinking, do they even make 512 sticks anymore?:p
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,514 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,948
    ripjaws clock like crazy.
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,476 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    So does Big Ben, but neither Gskill or London posted pics first!
    Eva01Master, Zubasa and de.das.dude say thanks.
  13. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Funny, that most highend corsair and gskill modules, both use PSC ICs... :D
    i can say tho from experience, that corsair is really extreme with binning, as the products that are not the highest bins, tend to OC worser with Corsair, then they do with other manufacturers midend bins.
  14. Paulieg

    Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,912 (4.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,978
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    Every decent memory companies has some sticks that clock well. You simply cannot make a statement like this, because some Ripjaws clock poorly. Just like some Dominators clock well, and others don't. It's all about the IC's they've chosen to use in the sticks.
  15. badtaylorx

    badtaylorx

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    468 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    are you serious???

    the article just told you they ran it @ almost 3.5Ghz.......

    and you want a courtesy call when they hit 3 huh.....
  16. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,810
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    It only took over a year for him to hit that frequency...:laugh:


    The thing is that these speeds aren't possible with a product you can go and buy, so the numbers for most, are just useless. Spending hours to get a validation hardly accounts for something most would call impressive...when we can all go buy ram that hits that speed, then yes, people MIGHT get excited.

    Otherwise it's yet another showing of what $1000's in LN2 can get you. Too bad most people are too broke to even try.
    de.das.dude and AthlonX2 say thanks.
  17. John Doe Guest

    Yep, PSC but aren't your regular PSC. They don't sell these (as GTX6 or any other brand). PSC's mostly sell at 2200 Mhz; these are specifically made sticks for them (until they get released). I'd still prefer my Hyper's since we everyday users are stuck around 2000 Mhz, that and Elpida Hypers get lower timings. If only Elpida kept on improving them and didn't discontinue...
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,714 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,864
    While it is an impressive feat, I don't really think it is relevant. At least with processor clock records, the processor clock speed makes major affects on performance, and allows for software/benchmarking records to be broken.

    However, RAM, isn't the same. It has little impact on performance in current platforms. And with a processor only at 4.1GHz, it has no impact. And even more, with both camps moving towards and unlocked multiplier being the way to overclock, RAM is becoming even less relevant. You use to buy high speed RAM to allow a higher FSB/BCLK, since the RAM is linked to these directly and rasing one raises the other. However, with Intel moving towards an pretty much locked BCLK, and AMD releasing pretty much all their processors in the current generation with unlocked multipliers, achieving high FSB/BCLK numbers isn't important anymore, so neither is highly overclockable RAM. You can pretty much stick any DDR3-1600 kit in your system and be perfectly fine.
    Locksmith says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,476 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    I see it as laying early ground work for DDR4:D
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,810
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Clocking ram from two years ago is preparing for the future? How so?


    :nutkick:

    Personally, I would have rathered have seen 2600 MHz on air, and for sale, rather than a demo with old sticks that are now discontinued. Currently, the highest speed bin for 2 GB sticks that Corsair has is 1866 Mhz. I just returned two sets of 2133 MHz which they were incapable of replacing for me. So instead, they refunded me the cost I paid for those DIMMS two years ago...@ like over $250 a set.

    I'm gonna take that cash, buy a 16GB set of 2133 MHz Dominator GTs for my SB-E rig(whenever they actually are in stock), and then put $100 back in my pocket. Or I could jsut wait for Corsair to send me a set for review purposes...:roll:


    Corsair, you don't realize why, but you rock. :laugh:
  21. John Doe Guest

    Get some Hypers from eBay. Win. :cool:
  22. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,810
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I already have Hypers. I prefer PSC, which is what i returned to Corsair.


    My Hypers do 9-10-9-28 2133 MHz @ 1.5v. They are of limited use of newer platforms, however. Sad to say, but the Hyper Era is very much dead unless you run older hardware.


    Ram tweaking is one of my favorite things. I was bitching about TRFC settings in BIOS before that was ever an option, and DFI's NF4 boards were still in their infancy. If there's an IC on the market, I tend to buy, and NEW...I don't buy used goods very often, and never components. Cooling and cases, used is no problem...

    I'm one of those guys that can identify a memory IC just by looking at it, even if the IC's surface has been scrubbed of all markings, or the heatspeader is epoxied on. Which is a big reason why 1155 was a big disappointment for me...no tweaking to be had, really.
  23. John Doe Guest

    Yeah, 2 GB per-stick and chips are nowhere to be found. If you get a better one, it'll outperform PSC around 2000 Mhz. PSC (GT 2200 etc.) get down to 8-9 around 2000, while top end Hypers do it at 7-7.
  24. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,476 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    Hypers are good until you blow up a P55 socket running 2000mhz 6-6-6-18:roll:
    Of course that was my fault, and I still have a couple of sets of Hypers including the Corsairs that abused my socket;) They are fun to play with, but the draw on those is way different than what PCS chips draw.

    @ dave, it tells me manufacturers need to get off their bums and do something about Corsair taking year old stick and making a scene with then, even if limited by capacity of the stick. This is what I meant about laying the ground work, it proves there is still interest in insane memory speeds, even if it does nothing but increase epeen length.
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,765 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,810
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, 2000 Mhz is 2010, dude. We're almost @ 2012.


    Thuban and BD can easily top 2000, as can Intel chips(Thuban prefers PSC it seems, anyway). Like I said, hypers are good for old hardware, and as a reviewer, I don't really have time to play with old stuff any more.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page