1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair VX450W

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Sep 6, 2007.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,788 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,490
    Last edited: Sep 8, 2007
    a_ump, Soylent Joe, btarunr and 2 others say thanks.
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Great price for a PSU that could prolly handle 600w totals. Thanks W1zz.
  3. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Got it now, it's great.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Yep, great PSU.
    The 550w version i have has even better efficiency with the same noise. It has 2 pci-e conncetors and being £10 cheaper than a hx520 i really dont understand why people dont go for it more.
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,914 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    modular, dual 12v rails
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,431 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,618
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    That's the best 450W PSU I've seen in a long time....the efficiency is totally off the charts. This PSU easily out-does several cheap 600W PSUs.

    Awesome review, W1z!
  7. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/other/display/atx-psu5.html#sect1

    Multiple rails has always been a marketing gimmick. Heres a section from an xbitlab review. Xbitlab are probably the best and most comprehensive reviewers of PSUs.

    An easy way to tell when there arent actually independent 12v rails is where if you add up the amperage of the 12v rails and then multiply it by 12, it doesnt add up to the stated combined power output of the rails.

    If we take the corsair 520w for example

    [​IMG]

    IOf we add up the 12v rail, we get 54A. Yet the combined power output of the 12v rails is 480w. This means the combined amperage can only be 480/12 = 40A. If these were truly 2 independent rails this would not happen.
  8. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    Yeah, I have this PSU and it's great. Could have a bit more power, but meh, I bet it's still enough for my current card. :p
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,431 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,618
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    I bought it for my brother's machine. Woot: 5 yrs warranty + authorised service-center in my city.
  10. Soylent Joe

    Soylent Joe New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,409 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    680
    Location:
    Brunswick, GA
    Oh wow, this unit is almost 3 years old and I bought a brand new one yesterday. Loving it so far, kicks ass just like all other Corsair products.
  11. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,824 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    i love this! that cable length is awesome because with my current psu i had to use 2 different sata cable because i couldn't reach the hdd and dvd. and that little psu rocks! perfect for a htpc or a lower end computer

    Just a example i bet it could easily do more than its rated speed

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2010
  12. Flanker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    163 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    i know someone who uses this PSU for E8400 and 5870, running with no problems at all. :eek:
  13. guitarfreaknation

    guitarfreaknation

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    590 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Sacramento, Ca
    This calculator is a bit off. lol

    Attached Files:

  14. Flanker

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    163 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Auckland, NZ
    well they do sell psu's...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page