1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair VX550W PSU big enough?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by puma99dk|, Jul 17, 2010.

  1. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,553 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    one of my friends have used this Corsair VX550W psu for about 2years or something on his Core 2 Duo non-oc system and when he borrowed my Asus EAH5770 TwinTurbo 1GB after reinstall of Windows 7 Ultimate x86 he started to get BSOD :wtf:

    his HW is this:

    Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 C0
    Gigabyte GA-EP45-DQ6
    2x2 & 2x1GB DDR2 (Mix memory but both runs DC without a problem)
    Sparkle GeForce 8800GTS 512mb
    Western Digital Raptor 74GB
    Western Digital Green 500gb
    2xATA HDD
    Pioneer DVD-/+RW ATA

    and he uses a NorthQ 3580 Siberian Tiger Water Cooler for his PSU and with the system when he uses a 8800GTS 512mb he didn't had BSOD so how come he gets it on a new installed OS with a HD5770 1GB? because it uses more power than 550watt or is the psu just starting to getting too old?

    advice is needed. :)
     
  2. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,632 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    329
    Make sure all the drivers are updated
     
  3. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,553 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    he his using all the driver Windows 7 have it self even for his USB headset he only installed drivers for his Logitech G15 keyboard, Logitech G5 mouse and the newest Catalyst from ATi's site.

    i have done the same with my system.
     
  4. neoreif

    neoreif

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    295 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    189
    Location:
    Las Islas Filipinas
    Maybe you can look at the BSOD error code from your minidump file and from there you can determine what's causing the system to BSOD! Hope this helps somehow! Good luck!
     
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,936 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,459
    Aye, we need error codes!! That PSU should be more than enough for that system.
     
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    that psu would even run dual 5770s on that system
     
  7. burebista

    burebista

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    615 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Romania
    ^^This

    ^^ and this.

    Your PSU should be more than enough, let's see that minidump file.
     
  8. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,553 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    as i said it isn't my system but a friends system and i can't check since he don't have time today for that, so i have to wait for that.

    but i needed to disable ATI's CLI or Win7 crashed for him :wtf:

    but the BSOD he had afterwards i didn't see so i can tell you why.
     
  9. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,553 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    now i have installed x64 on his system again and dropped Catalyst Control Center and now there isn't any BSOD :wtf:
     
  10. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,553 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    here is a screenshot of BlueScreenview:

    [​IMG]

    so anyone know how to fix this problem?

    it only crashes when Catalyst Control Center is installed :wtf:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jul 22, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page