1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Corsair's Individually Sleeved Cables for their AX1200

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Flava0ne, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    Has anyone on here purchased one of Corsair's Individually Sleeved Cable Kits for the AX1200? If so, could you please post a pic showing both connector ends of one of the PCI-E cables showing both sides of each connector?

    I'm currently in the process of individually sleeving my AX1200 modular cables myself, but I noticed that on the 6+2 PCI-E cables that the +2 portion are both crimped into 1 connector pin that goes towards the AX1200. But I also noticed on the 8-pin connector that goes to the AX1200 that there's an available slot to put another connector pin. Would I be able to separate the +2 portion of the PCI-E cables and have each one individual by crimping another connector pin on the other wire and putting it in the available slot on the connector housing for the AX1200. Minding that I decide by which pin goes where by judging the current layout of the 6 pins?
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    aren't the +2 pins just ground anyways?

    As far as running an individual ground, you need to look in the PSU to see if the extra pin is even wired;) Looking at images in reviews is tough to tell, I would assume the ground is connected on the PCB, and they just did it that way to save money on the wiring and leave the cables a bit more flexible.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2012
  3. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    I'm not sure if I understand 100% of what you're saying, but the 2 wires on the +2 portion that connects to the GPU are both crimped into 1 pin that goes towards the PSU. The connector on the PSU end has an empty slot above where the +2 wires meet to the 1 pin.

    But I'm not sure if that empty slot is for a ground if what you're saying is that the +2 portion on the PCI-E cales are both grounds.

    Yeah the only image of the PCI-E cables on Corsair's website doesn't show the side that would definitely answer my question. :(
     
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    [​IMG]

    the +2 are both ground wires. What I am saying is that they are likely crimped there for the fact of shorter wires = cheaper, and less wires = more flexible.

    As for running 8 individual wires, its seems feasible, but I would want to be sure that the 8th pin is grounded internally and not just a dummy.

    This is where I went to look....http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story4&reid=189
     
    Flava0ne says thanks.
  5. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    Oh okay gotcha! ;)

    I'm going to have to borrow a friends volt meter to make sure, unless someone else can post a pic of their cables before.
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    well I can dig out one for the AX1200 that is the factory wire, but from what I remember that end is just a blank socket without a wire going to it. I'm gonna go dig up some info on the new wire kits and see what they did, if it is 8 wires I will assume you are good to go.
     
    Flava0ne says thanks.
  7. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    Yeah, that's exactly what I was thinking cause no way are they able to individually sleeve that cable and keep it looking uniform with the rest of it if they didn't make it 8 wires.
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    [​IMG]

    found that on the net, and if you look closely I don't see an 8th pin in that connection.
     
    Flava0ne says thanks.
  9. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    Weird, I definitely thought that it would have been taken up.
     
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    looks wired too, just no connection in the clip:confused: my guess it that both grounds terminate into the bottom ground pin at the PSU end to make the GPU end look right with 8 wires.
     
  11. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    Yeah, weird or what? LOL
     
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    see edit^
     
  13. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    I wouldn't be surprised if it was in fact just a little illusion that Corsair is trying to pull, cause when I removed the stock bundle sleeving on the PCI-E cables, that cylindrical object close the GPU end didn't do anything but conform around the wires. At first I was hesitant to even try to individually sleeve the cables myself because of that. But I decided check out what it was on one the PCI-E cables that I wasn't using and was pretty surprised finding that out. Right now I have all my cables individually sleeved except for the +2 portions on the PCI-E cables and I'm not really content at just leaving them unsleeved.
     
  14. 1ceTr0n

    1ceTr0n

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    208 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    They have a deal now if you buy a new PSU from Corsair, you get a fully sleeved kit for free. I'm really tempted to do it myself.

    http://www.corsair.com/us/promo?___store=us


    Did the math personally just to see how it would balance out. If I got the AX850 from Corsair w/free colored sleeve cable kit being offered along with basic shipping = $245.31

    Getting the AX850 from Newegg then buying cable sleeved kit from Corsair along with basic shipping costs = $264.41

    So I still save about $20 with the Corsair cable deal. Just also learned that the Corsairs also come with a insane 7 year warranty! Wow, i'd never have to worry about a PSU again for a long time, especially if I move outa state and can't afford one for awhile wether due to upgrade reasons or this Antec one dies. So tempting.....
     
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    So there isn't a ferrite choke inside of the plastic capsule on the wiring?
     
  16. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    It could have been ferrite material but if the 2 zip ties they put on the top and on the bottom of it weren't there, it would slide up and down the cable freely.

    It just seemed to me like it was just placed there to make you wonder WTF is that! And to not bother individually sleeving the cables yourself and go and buy one of their kits instead. Cause my GPU's OC'ed at 900MHz run perfectly fun when playing BF3 all day long ever since I individually sleeved them myself and removed those things from the cables.
     
  17. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,110 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,914
    I removed the ferite beads on my pcie cabled when I sleeved my Hx1000, and it has been fine ever since, about a year now. It's been fine running crossfire and overclocked.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    Pretty much useless huh?
     
  19. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    I think it is there to eliminate noises or cross talk in the wiring.
     
  20. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    Makes sense, but what made me want to remove them was when I saw images from Corsair's site with the PCI-E cables without them.
     
  21. Flava0ne

    Flava0ne

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    192.168.0.1
    I was just thinking and I don't think I would be able to individually sleeve the +2 portion of the PCI-E cables because the 8-Pin CPU ATX/EPS connector has the exact same connector as the PCI-E cables which go to the PSU end, and if the 4 pins on top are grounds and the other 4 pins are 12V, then that means that the empty pin would be voltage and not a ground.

    EDIT: I think I'll just shorten the original PCI-E cables and make full 8-pin PCI-E extensions and individually sleeve those instead.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page