1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Could bad [RAM on the] Graphics card cause computer crashes?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by WhiteLotus, Apr 2, 2010.

  1. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    Well... could it?

    I have been recently getting random computer crashes and reboots. First I thought it was the PSU, so i changed the PSU... no change. Then I ran memtest on EACH stick of RAM, no errors what so ever, so i deduced it was the motherboard... moved over from a 775 setup to an i3 setup... no change.
    I've changed almost every component in my computer but the RAM and the graphics card... RAM passed memtest so that leaves the Graphics card... right?


    Thoughts please.


    oh and there are no error logs to speak off.
  2. Indra EMC

    Indra EMC New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Nagoya Hills
    why not to reset your bios setting to default (i recommend RESET CMOS), boot to windows and run prime 95 for 20 to 30 minutes, if there's no crashes it's just your bad bios setting.
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2010
    WhiteLotus says thanks.
  3. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    That is a very good idea.
  4. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,193 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    831
    Location:
    London, UK
    could be, try underclocking it a bit and see the results, could just be vram overheating :rockout:
    WhiteLotus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    See what happens without running inside the case and on top of cardboard box.

    Example:
    P_o_s_pc was having the same issue but was frying power supplies left and right also. I suggested to him to buy a new case due to a small short by the I/O backplate area and he hasn't had problems since then.
    WhiteLotus says thanks.
  6. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,831 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Location:
    Singapore
    If the ram on the card is bad, the problem will surely show when stress testing it, right?
    WhiteLotus says thanks.
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    12,983 (6.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,091
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Could bad [RAM on the] Graphics card cause computer crashes?

    Yes, BSODs. Usually the faulting module is the graphic driver. Make sure to disable "restart on fatal error" to get the info on the BSOD (STOP code and faulting module).
    WhiteLotus says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    Well ran prime for an hour 9minutes and no warnings, no errors.

    In response to JrRacinFan, i have also changed the case, and wired everything at least 3 times.
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  9. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,831 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Location:
    Singapore
    If it's the card's ram prime won't cut it. You have to try something like Furmark or OCCT's GPU test.
    WhiteLotus says thanks.
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Alright, then try setting up the integrated vid if it fails. From there you should at least be able to rma the video card. Could even try different drivers before doing that also.
    WhiteLotus says thanks.
  11. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,080 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
    Recently I also got BSOD that said the cause was the videocard.

    Well, I never had them before so I thought: DUST INSIDE VIDEOCARD.

    And yes, although my box is perfectly clean inside, in the covered internal parts of the videocard cooling fins dust had build up to the extent that only 20% of the outlets where open for airflow!!!

    You just have to unscrew the cover of the card to check and clean.

    After cleaning, didn't see the BSOD again ;)
  12. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,831 (1.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    360
    Location:
    Singapore
    BTW if you're with the Cat 10.3a drivers, I got some serious instability with them, whenever i tried to overclock/underclock
  13. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    Well Furmark ran for a good half hour on the stability test with no issues. Temps didn't get above 67 C either, which i thought was pretty damn good.


    Hmm, will have to see if it happens again and if so i'll take out the card and run it just on the integrated graphics. See what happens then.


    Thanks for your input guys, much appreciated.
    :toast:
  14. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,218
    i would try (in that order):

    check if your cpu overheats
    lower the memory frequency/timings to something really low, just to make sure
    install a blank os on a new hdd and play with it
    try a different wall outlet / power cord
    JrRacinFan and WhiteLotus say thanks.
  15. Bo$$

    Bo$$

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,193 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    831
    Location:
    London, UK
    OCCT has a video card ram tester in built try it with 10 passes
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page