1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Could you help me reach 5Ghz?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by technicks, Jan 14, 2012.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    As I like the setup and all maybe if you did this to your rads you may see better temps and less stress on your pump . This here is my setup and it has always worked very well for me . I have yet to see the temps get above 70c at 100% load . I do not know what you can do other than this . At least give it a shot . ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,364 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,668
    Location:
    Florida
    if you have a hot CPU (but i suggest you take your time bleeind the line etc first) you can increase the flow rate. piggy back pumps (with same flow rate) one pumping right into the others rez.
     
  3. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Res is full. In a few weeks i'm gonna get the Lian Li bench table and only run the 360 rad.
    So no more fiddling on this setup.
     
  4. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Just read the last few posts and definitely running only the 360 rad might be your better option. Just get the tech bench and go from there. Keep us posted.
     
  5. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    If i can cash out the money i will buy a new cpu block and maybe go for more powerful pump.
    I read that the pump i have, the Liang MCP350 does 440 liters an hour. The MCP655 puts out 1400 liters an hour. That will get things flowing!
    Would be nice if i could get the temps down like 5 to 10*C. I have to live with the fact that this chip isn't one of the coolest. But i love it anyway.
    If i could get it running at 5Ghz stable and don't go past low 70's that would be awesome.
     
  6. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I have read multiple times and in different sites that the MCP 355 with aftermarket tops flow better than the 655. Although the 655 flows more LPH, the MCP 355 has better head pressure. I'm not a watercooling expert, but look into this and see what you can find out.

    Here, read this. Says it in the first post.

    http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/foru...-3-1-mcp-350-into-lain-ddc-3-2-mcp-355-a.html
     
    trickson and technicks say thanks.
  7. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    I would say the best bang for buck cpu block now is the swiftech apogee HD it's super cheap and has decent temps. the problem is that your current block is years old and worked best on core 2 duos. if you are cooling just cpu the 350 is fine you wouldnt need to get a fancy top for it the have some cheap good ones that will allow you to run 1/2 tube without using reducers.
    at sidewinders the apogee hd is on $59.99 and a decent 350 top is $22.99. you should see a good 7c drop in load temps and at leas 5c idle. then you can add a bit more voltage without having a HOT cpu.
     
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  8. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2012
  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Yeah the new Apogee HD's are awesome from what I've read and is probably the block I'll get soon for my 2600K.
     
  10. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Think i'll will buy the black one. Saves me a bit, some black 1/2 tubing to go with it then i will keep it under €175. Maybe i can sell the Swiftech apogee and the chipset block i have to get some cash back.
     
  11. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Unless you need it for something else, selling the stuff you took off always helps making some of that money back. :) THe black is one is super nice anyways dude.
     
    technicks says thanks.
  12. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,178 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad

    no my dear friend you should not feel like that dude no noob try to hit 5ghz LOL, some guys post whatever they thing it's will be the cuz and in same time it's like an truobleshoting put all expect cuz's to find the problem.
    Anyway maybe it's bad quality chip.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page