1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU fan keeps going then stopping! A little help please

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by J-Man, Aug 29, 2007.

  1. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I just put in my new Intel quad Q6600 and new MB and all works fine but the CPU fans is now going but then it stops for about 10 seconds then runs again. Why is this?
     
  2. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,135 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,458
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    plug in another fan and see if it does that.

    What is your bios fan settings?
     
  3. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I'm using the stock heatsink and fan. I'll have a look at my BIOS.
     
  4. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    1200RPM about.
     
  5. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,155 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    451
    have you got it set on auto like smart fan or Qfan some thing like that in the bios does it just stop or does it make a noise and your system so warn you if your cpu fan fails
     
  6. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Check your temperatures. Your motherboard is trying to keep the fans as slow as possible based on temps. With the fan on your cpu cools to the point the mobo thinks it can fun fanless, it shuts off the fan, the cpu heats back up, the mobo turns it back on, the cycle continues. Check for Q-fan etc in your bios.
     
  7. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    It appears that the problem was because I had the side of the case off and now it hasn't stopped and yes I've turned Q Fan on and another option too and it appears to be fine. Thanks anyway hehe.
     
  8. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    We are saying turn qfan off. The c2d's stock cooler is rather quiet as is even at full speed. For the lowest temps turn qfan OFF. You may need to change your case's airflow if your cpu fan will cool to the point of shutoff with no case panel and not even close with it on.
     
  9. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    My apologies. Putting the side case of didn't resolve my problem. It still stops then goes but also I didn't turn on Q Fan. I turned on 2 other options about CPU Temperature Limit and I set it to 60C then another option but can't remember. I can't find q-fan in my BIOS. Where would I find it?
     
  10. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,585 (1.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    i dont know if it is called qfan or not. there should be some fan related settings in your bios though. You need to just look around and see if you can find anything and turn it off.
     
  11. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    your fans prolly messed up just get a new one
     
  12. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    mine does that all the time .if your temperatures are normal then it doesnt really matter.try
    using orthos or atitool and see if it stays on with higher cpu load
     
  13. savillm

    savillm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
    if i where you i would just get a cable and plug it directley into your power supply so the fan is riunning at full speed all the time
     
  14. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Fan shouldn't be turning "off"..... Slowing down sure maybe but not "off".... I would consider wiring it straight to a molex and then running the monitor wire to the mainboard.
     
  15. k0rn_h0li0 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,180 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Hometown CALI, Current WI.
    maybe not enough power to the motherboard so yeah.

    you also tried putting it in another 3 pin connector on the motherboard and it doesn't work.
    make sure like nothings making it stuck so that it doesn't stop and go. get back to us
     
  16. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Neat Mobo has lots of features;
    ACPI offers both S1 and S3 modes. S3 will power the CPU down to total standby, and shut down the fan.

    Specifies the ACPI sleep state when the system enters suspend.
    S1(POS) Enables the system to enter the ACPI S1 (Power on Suspend) sleep state.
    In S1 sleep state, the system appears suspended and stays in a low power
    mode. The system can be resumed at any time.

    S3(STR) Enables the system to enter the ACPI S3 (Suspend to RAM) sleep state
    (default). In S3 sleep state, the system appears to be off and consumes less
    power than in the S1 state. When signaled by a wake-up device or event,
    the system resumes to its working state exactly where it was left off.

    Also check PC health settings;
    Smart FAN Control Method...Specifies how to control CPU fan speed. Auto Lets BIOS control CPU fan speed. (Default)

    Intel(R) ...QST Allows CPU fan speed to be controlled by the Intel Quiet System Technology
    (QST). This feature requires the installation of Intel Host Embedded Control Interface (HECI) driver from the motherboard driver disk.

    Legacy... Allows CPU fan to run at different speed according to the CPU temperature.

    Disabled ...Forces CPU fan to run at full speed.

    Smart FAN Control Mode...Specifies how to control CPU fan speed. This item is configurable only if CPU Smart FAN Controlis set to Enabled.

    Auto... Lets BIOS autodetect the type of CPU fan installed and sets the optimal CPU fan control mode. (Default)

    Voltage... Sets Voltage mode for a 3-pin CPU fan.

    PWM... Sets PWM mode for a 4-pin CPU fan.

    Note: The Voltage mode can be set for a 3-pin CPU fan or a 4-pin CPU fan. However, for a 4-pin CPU fan that is not designed following Intel PWM fan specifications, selecting PWM mode may not effectively reduce the fan speed.
     
  17. k0rn_h0li0 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,180 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Hometown CALI, Current WI.
    hmm but were trying to see why its stopping and going not how fast it runs. although nice features from the motherboard. stuff like this can go wrong sometimes cause its so advanced. ROFL
     
  18. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    From reading the manual ACPI S3 mode may stop the fan(on that mobo). It all depends on weather or not the sysytem is actually doing anything or not. If it is actually doing something, then the fan may be bad and not turning when voltage is dropped to low speed level.
     
  19. k0rn_h0li0 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,180 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Hometown CALI, Current WI.
    maybe if it was actually doing something i mean the cpu the fan runs and if it doesn't then it sits there till you do something. or what namslas said it could be the fan. good luck with the fix
     
  20. savillm

    savillm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
    what if is the fan header thats on the mobo have you tryed to connect it directley to the psu to see if the fan runs ok that way i think it coild be a faulty connection on the mobo fan header.
     
  21. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    The fan spins but the issue is "is it working properly" when the ACPI kicks in. The PSU is not controlled by the ACPI Function so that won't realy tell us if the fan header is working properly or not.
     
  22. savillm

    savillm New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Exeter, UK
    yeah true i dident think about that lol
     
  23. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    It's ok now guys. I changed one setting in my BIOS to PWN which means my CPU is connected to a 4pin CPU. And I changed the SMART Fan setting in BIOS and my fans hasn't stopped yet and it's going fine.
     
  24. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    PWN ... or u meant u got PWN'T?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page