1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU/GPU loop with Swiftech H220

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Norton, Jun 9, 2013.

  1. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    10,135 (7.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25,910
    I'm prepping a project build using....

    - Fractal Define R4 case
    - Asus M5A97 Evo/FX-8350
    - Swiftech H220 AIO + Swiftech XP 120mm rad
    - PowerColor LCS 7970
    - misc tubing, fittings, etc (3/8"x1/2" size)

    Here's a draft of the loop:
    *white arrows- water flow, blue arrows- air flow
    [​IMG]

    I'm a noob in water cooling so please let me know what you think- Thanks! :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. shoestring

    shoestring New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    I'm Not sure if the H220 is beefy enough for this? I've never used one of the self contained water cooling prebuildt units but I thought one of the benefits was that there is no mess no leak.

    If your willing to build something from that thing ....may as well go balls first and come correct.

    I would recommend the Swiftech H20-220 w that 120mm Rad as a starter kit.

    http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...oduct_info&cPath=59_202_604&products_id=32745
     
  3. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    5,258 (3.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,608
    The h220 has plenty of pump power. He really only needs 2x120mm of rad to get good temps. 3x120 of good rads with good fans will make everything temps just great. I share a good 240mm rad with good fans between my 2500k and 7970. My 7970 never gets past 37c.
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    10,135 (7.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25,910
    I already own the H220 so nothing extra to buy in that department ;)

    The pump in this unit is oversized for running CPU/GPU(s)/Radiator(s)

    Video here shows this unit running dual GTX 680's and dual Radeon 7970's (with an extra 240mm rad)
    [yt]4-ly5nKc7ok[/yt]

    The extra 120mm rad should cover the extra heat from the 7970 so it should run fine.... If not, keep an eye out for an H220 in the B/S/T section about 10 days from now :eek:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    I've got one of their older systems sitting here with one of their 2x120mm rads, it's heatsoaking pretty quickly off a 3.9ghz clocked 1090T alone. The rad is a fairly decent rad just around 15-FPI (I think) which means beyond a certain point more air flow does very little to reduce temps.

    I think if you don't plan to OC you might be alright, however you may find yourself wanting to add another 120mm rad so you can keep temps low and possibly avoid needing to use high speed (noisy) fans.

    I'm not sure how the new rad differs from the previous kit they sold.
     
    Norton says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page