1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU heat problem new cooler

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by justasomeone, Apr 19, 2010.

  1. justasomeone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This morning before I decided to air dust my comp and do some wire
    management, my CPU temp was around 41c idle and high 70's during
    gaming, which is pretty normal. It never reached 80c, ever.

    After I took my computer apart and put it back together my CPU has
    been acting weird. It has been heating up really quickly. Realtemp
    shows 57-65c idle and my load can go up to 85c+. Even got bsod once. I
    thought my CPU fan was the problem so i went out and bought this
    http://canadacomputers.com/index.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=025341&cid=FAN.349 , But It still overheats into high 80c's during gaming.

    I tried playing around with the CPU OC, after changing the
    speed my comp did the two reboot thing and the speed was
    automatically set to 1.2ghz. I'm using e2160 and at the moment I can't even
    clock it back to the stock speed (1.8ghz). It just reboots twice and goes back
    to 1.2ghz.

    e2160 (had it oc'd to 2.2ghz before cleaning and never had problems
    1.5year+)
    8800gt
    4gbram
    P35-DS3L

    What could be the problem? I tried reconnecting everything but
    nothing.. I would replace the part but I don't even know myself if
    it's the CPU or mb.
     
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    Welcome to the forums. Fill out your systems specs ASAP.

    Anyway did you remove the heatsink during your cleaning? Also did you mess with the CPU voltage when you "played with the CPU OC"?
     
  3. justasomeone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Unfortunately I did not remove the heatsink when I cleaned it. I used the air can to remove the dust on the fan.

    Nope, I did not change the voltage, only the cpu frequency. I never did touch that option
     
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    Ok reset your bios to its default settings. Chances are you messed with something thats causing your CPU to over heat. Also make sure the rest of your case fans are working. A member here on TPU has a case that if one intake or exhaust fan goes down her CPU temps spike like crazy.

    Also never OC on a new cooler until you are sure its doing its job on default settings. In some cases the paste has to have time to cure properly. If I were you I would get some better thermal paste like OCZ Freeze or the like. In the future man ask questions before you spend money. We can save you a lot of money and time on TPU. :toast:
     
    Soylent Joe says thanks.
  5. justasomeone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'll try that, I'll post back in a few mins.
     
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,709 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,227
    to add, even though you didnt touch the voltage, on most boards as you raise the FSB/Bclk, Auto setting will allow for the mobo to "automatically" raise voltages as needed.
     
  7. justasomeone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, I reset my bios to its default settings and it managed to go back to it's stock speed, but it's still overheating like crazy.

    All my fans works. In bios it says my case temp is 37c.
     
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    Check to see how well you seated your new heat sink. It may not be on tight enough. If enough of the surface isn't connecting then you will have these problems. FYI 37c is hot for an ambient temp.

    Edit: I just read the cooler you bought has MX2 applied to it. Thats decent thermal paste but from what I remember it takes time to cure.
     
  9. justasomeone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yeah, what really gets me though is that it began heating up with my old cpu fan. So something must of happened back when. Though the temp is high as it is now, my temps are cooler are with this fan than the old one.

    I would replace the cpu, but I don't know if the heat problem would still exist with the new cpu. I don't wanna risk it.
     
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    CPUs don't just heat up. Something is causing it to. Can you post a screen of your task manager with your system at idle? Remember to block out your name and such. This is the interwebz and all.

    If you have a malice application causing your CPU to run at full speed 24/7 that might cause high temps. Also did you check to see if you could tighten up the heatsink more?
     
  11. justasomeone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  12. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    Other than some services you dont really need running I dont see anything odd there. That and your CPU is only at 1% which is good. I'm going to PM some people that are better with Intel rigs to come see this thread. I'm an AMD guy. Hold tight man. We will figure this out.

    Edit: Until you get more feedback and we fix the problem I wouldn't do any gaming.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2010
  13. justasomeone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks, I appreciate it.

    Something must of happened when I used the Air can. The irony is that before all of this happened it was my GPU that was heating up (110+c) and my cpu was perfectly fine, cleaned both and now it turned out like this. :banghead:
     
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    I just noticed you have EVGA precision running. Do not allow that to start with windows. That could be doing some real time clock adjustments.

    I could be wrong but I doubt you could do anything to affect a CPU like this with an air can.
     
  15. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Make sure the HSF has all 4 pins snapped in (they don't snap in easy--very stressful to do this). If any are loose, the heatsink won't be tight enough against the processor and thusly, temperatures will be higher. It could have came loose when you were cleaning it.

    Also, make sure you have an adequate (not too much, not too little--just enough for a thing layer covering the cores) amount of thermal paste. Arctic Silver's instructions for apply thermal paste are the best. Follow them to the T.

    If it did come loose, you'll probably have to take the HSF out, clean both surfaces with isopropynol alchol, and put it back together with fresh thermal paste. Air pockets are very bad for cooling.


    I'd say the thermal sensors are just going bad but thermal sensors wouldn't trigger BSODs. Something is actually causing errors that jeoprodize the stability of the system, hence, BSOD. What are the STOP codes by the way? Also, is there a file listed (e.g. nv4_disp.dll, ntfs.sys, etc.) in BSOD?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. justasomeone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The bsods are rare, only happened 3 times so far out of the couple of days this has happened. Its weird though cause when I did get them the temp wasn't peaking, it was around 70c. I remember the bsod saying something like that but it was too quick for me to memorize it. I'll be ready next time.

    I don't have any paste with me so I don't think I can take out the heatsink. It's been 2 going to 3 days, is it still fresh enough for me to take it out and place it back in? or should I wait until i get some new paste.
     
  17. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    With only 2 days, you are likely OK with the paste.

    I'm gonna have to say the heatsink isn't seated properly. Make sure it's not hitting anything on the mobo, like a capacitor, and double check to make sure all of the push pins are all the way in. The push pins actually take quite a bit of force to seat properly. Much more than you would expect. I'm always afraid I'm going to break my board when I put a push pin cooler on.


    In the meantime, you need to turn off automatic rebooting for system failures.

    right click My Computer in the start menu, and select properties. Go to advanced system settings, then to startup and recovery. Uncheck the Automatically Restart box. BSOD will stay on screen until you manually restart then.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2010
  18. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    To add to that, everytime I installed one of the stock HSFs, the motherboard did flex quite a bit and some even made a creeking sound. Remember to do opposing corners at the same time and push hard enough for it to snap in place.

    Before installing it, make sure all four corners are rotated to the locked position. The arrows on the pegs show how to unlock it, not lock it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    Better yet, do away with those push pins and bolt that sucker down. Someone at Intel needs to be shot for coming up with that idea. :nutkick:
     
  20. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I agree. AMD on the 939 and up sockets have the best attachment system (hook and flip). Intel's have always sucked.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. justasomeone New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I just wanted to say Thank you all. I managed to fix it. I took everything apart and put it back together carefully. It seems the heatsink wasn't in properly like you all were saying, haha. Silly me.

    Thank you for all your help.

    It must of came loose when I was air dusting it, but it didn't come to mind that it could of been loose because I didn't even touch the heatsink to begin with. But I guess anything can happen.
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2010
  22. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Glad you got it fixed. Feel free to stick around the forums. Lots of good info here.
     
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,290 (7.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,777
    I told ya we would get it fixed :D Stick around man.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page