1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

cpu holding my system back ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by chaotic_uk, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,330 (4.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,374
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Then you got the Windsor, thats a good proc. I wouldn't upgrade if I was you, yes it is showing it's age, but really the 7750 wont be much of an upgrade, the 8750 yes, and a quad core yes, but most games don't use more than 2 cores, so any of those really arent an upgrade. Just wait, save some cash and pick up something that isn't a minor upgrade. The beginning 2Q's of next year will be like a 2nd christmas.
     
    chaotic_uk says thanks.
  2. Sonido

    Sonido New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    357 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    USA
    I have the E6600. It's also starting to become senile.
     
  3. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    i will be in a better postion in march next year when my car is paid for , i will wait till then and see what the prices are like for the new phenoms . would i be better putting more memory and getting a 64bit os to tide me over ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2008
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    The 64 bit OS, yes. More ram, doubftul.
     
  5. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    i have windows xp pro x64 but their is no drivers for my mobile broadband , thats why i am on a 32 bit os
     
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yeah, not many drivers for XP64. Have you also done some spyware/virus scans? Alot of times what leads to these "slow-downs" are background processes.
     
  7. chaotic_uk New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    685 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    not yet this month as it takes hours , thats tonights job as i do it once a month
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page