1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU not booting

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xmountainxlionx, Feb 5, 2008.

  1. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    My friend just put together a new computer and guess what...Its not coming on...completely.

    Havnt tried much yet. the psu will come on for a second and quit. everything is plugged in, reset cmos, nothing. checked all connections. he did mention he put the CPU fan pin in a SYS fan header. I could have sworn that not having anything plugged in to the CPU fan header can cause the CPU not to boot. not near the comp at the moment.

    here are the specs

    AMD 5000+ x2 black
    biostar tf560
    ati HD2600xt
    2 gigs adata
    1 ide HDD
    zalman cpu cooler
    xion Supernova 600w modular
    asus dvd rom
     
  2. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Not having the cpu fan plugged in would possibly sound an alarm in the bios menu, just to warn you your fan has possibly failed, but it wouldn't affect booting.
    It sounds more like a PSU problem, if it turns on, then off.
     
  3. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    yeah cause we are no where near getting into the bios
     
  4. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    Did he put the spacers between mobo and tray? Might be shorting and turning off to save the components. There's a possibility of a dead motherboard if this is the case, but he might be lucky.
     
  5. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    that could probably be the reason, he said he simply forgot to put the brass spacers on the back of the mb. thankz
     
  6. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,776 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    US
    yeah, i had that happen
     
  7. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Hope you get it sorted soon check memory compatability for your board if you still get problems could be another thing to look at if its not anything faulty.
     
  8. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    584 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    we got it straightened out last night. turns out he didnt know what the washers where for. so we put them in and LUCKILY nothing was harmed and we got everything going good. Also his mobo driver CD was scratched pretty bad so he couldnt install his LAN driver to download his other drivers, but LUCK for him i had the same cd lol...lucky mofo
     
  9. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    lol glad its all sorted
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page