1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU not overclocking all the way i7 3930k

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Aceman.au, Jan 18, 2013.

  1. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Well I want more FPS in WoW so I've overclocked my CPU to 4.0 and upped the vcore by +0.04 as I did experience stability issues last time I OC'd and I thought it may solve it. (vcore does help stablity I'm told?, still learning)

    Any way I've got CPU-Z up and the core speed is only 3.5GHZ up from 3.2GHZ stock. Does it only go all the way if they system needs it? This Intel speed-step crap controlling it?

    Also found the ram speed was set to 1333mhz for some reason, so I set it to 2133mhz which is its proper speed.

    System specs on the left!
     
  2. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Hmm I think I may have found the issue. The max Turbo mode ratio is x38. When I had it set to x40 not allowing me to go higher. Can I go any further or am I capped?
     
  3. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,354 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,119
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    You shouldn't be capped. The 3820 is the only low-capped chip with a max of 42x although I think it only lets you do 40 or 41. Try working with the bclk a bit, your SB-E chip is much more flexible than the typical SB or IVB chip.

    I don't know how well your chip OCs but I would give something like 133.4 x 30 = 4.000Ghz if you can find a friendly memory multiplier at that bclk. I don't suspect that it would want more than 1.325-1.36v on the core and 1.125-1.265v on the VCCSA. You may want to bump the VTT voltage, but that is more important if you want to overclock your memory but can help bclk overclocks. I wouldn't set it higher than 1.2v. This is all what I know from my 3820 so your 3930k might like different voltages, but I would work with the bclk though.

    Edit: I just noticed that you are running DDR3-2133. Running 133.4Mhz BCLK will enable you to hold on to 2134Mhz for memory. Just make sure to adjust it after you update the bclk.
     
  4. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Yeah tried those settings, didn't even post. Had to clear CMOS.

    But for some bizarre reason the predefined settings are now working and I've got it to 4.0ghz. This didn't happen before. Seems stable enough.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Temp sitting @ 45 degrees Celsius under load. Not bad/10
     
  6. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,354 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,119
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Nice. I haven't optimized mine much since I updated the BIOS but this is what I'm running. I can push it higher but it's stable and I don't exactly have as much time as I would like to get a better stable OC.
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 3820.PNG
      3820.PNG
      File size:
      54.5 KB
      Views:
      700
  7. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    This OC was by accident, it's stable so I'm gunna leave it like this.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page