1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cpu or gpu upgrade

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by ste2425, Apr 1, 2010.

  1. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,510 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    ive just got my self a new job so when a few debts are paid of ill be able to save for new bits n bobs so what would you recomend i upgrade? my cpu or my gpu?. First ill be getting a new psu so dont worry about that. Im think of the 5850 if i do get a new gpu but i dont want to bother if my cpu is gonna hold it back so much that i wont notice any performance increase. Id like to be able to have some form of eyefinity setup but doubt itl ever happen so ill probably be gaming at the same res i am now, any ideas? cheers
    stephen
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,774 (12.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,686
    With your CPU at 3ghz, get the 5850 for sure.
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,661 (2.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,994
    I agree with erocker. The 5850 would be a good improvement over the 4850 and it won't be bottlenecked by a core 2 processor at 3Ghz.
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  4. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,510 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    ok thanks im on average getting 30 fps in metro 2033 maxed out, no aa on dx10 settings. I didnt no if it was my cpu or gpu hindering me. cheers. One question tho i get a hd5x card and run in dx11 mode maxed would i have similar fps then? would the extra load then be too much for my cpu?

    edit: i have two other quick questions, dont want to start a new thread and take up space, what size psu would you recomend for my rig with a 5850?
    and the other question wat would be a decent but still resonable price i could get for my 4850, never oc still with full packaging
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2010
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,774 (12.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,686
    Metro 2033 hinders everything. If this is just to play Metro 2033, stick with what you have.
     
  6. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,230 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    995
    Location:
    Miami
    Gpu Gpu Gpu
     
  7. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,510 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    nooo its not, its just that metro is the most recent game i have on my rig so i thought it would be a good base to set my performance on to help you work out which upgrade would be best :)
     
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,914 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    If you are happy with your performance atm, I would save up if I were you
     
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,774 (12.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,686
    5850 would be best and you'll definitely get better FPS at your current settings with the game. If you want to use the DX11 features of tesselation and DOF you will need two 5850's at a minimum! It's sad, but it's the way it's meant to be played. :ohwell:

    Metro 2033 aside, no better upgrade than the 5850. :toast:
     
  10. ste2425

    ste2425

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    3,510 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    422
    Location:
    Huddersfield, uk
    i was happy untill i played more recent game, metro, bad company2, bioshock 2 and whilst it is good and didnt run bad it still get rather noticable lag in some parts.

    so if i want the full extra benifits of dx11 i would need a more powerful gpu? is that just for metro or any dx11 title in general? if so thats put me right off
     
  11. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    Not for every DX11 title - supposedly, CoP runs fairly on-par with DX10(.1).

    Haven't tried any myself, though, and am not aware of how well other DX11 titles perform.

    Metro is pretty rough on the hardware, though.
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,774 (12.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,686
    Just Metro. The game was (kinda) made by Nvidia. There is nothing to be put off by upgrading from a 4850 to a 5850, you won't be disappointed.
     
    ste2425 says thanks.
  13. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,986 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    498
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I dunno
    My CPU is pretty much on par with yours and it is The bottleneck in my system with a 5750..
    I'll do some benchies and post what I mean

    EDIT:
    NEVER MIND during my Benchies I determined I was hitting the Limit of the 5750 and NOT the cpu
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2010
    ste2425 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page