1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU or video card upgrade?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by p_o_s_pc, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I am going to be coming into some money in about 2-3months... I am not sure how much but i am told it is going to be around $200 maybe more. What would be better...
    Save some money and go to a AMD Phenom 9600 BE or a video card something like a 9600GT or a 8800GTS G92?

    My video vard now is a Geforce 7900GS @580/900 (ram volt mod and upped shaders)
    My CPU is AMD Athlon 64 x2 4600+ @2.5ghz@1.35v 24/7


    Thanks
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    More RAM and a video card.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  3. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    wow that was a fast reply JR
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    Definately more RAM and I would go a 8800gt.
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Hey, I try my best. But an 8800GT + a pair of Adata's or GeIL's should hold you over until your next build.
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Oh and another question before you get the 8800GT, is your board SLI capable?
     
  7. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    no my board isn't SLI. I only have 1 PCI-E x16 slot
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Make the 8800GT a 512MB version. Also, the Esoteria's run very well. What's good about them is that are CONFIRMED to be warranteed up to 2.5v.

    Oh and if you must need an opinion on them, DanishDevil is the one to ask!
     
  10. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    damn 2.5v my board doesn't even go to 2.5v it only goes to 2.4v but that still would be good for overclocking.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Well they are known to do at least 900mhz 4-4-4-10 @ 2.2v.
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,651 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,042
    I couldn't agree more.:toast:
     
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,894 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    For sure a video card with at least 512meg on it.
     
  14. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    If they are anything like my Geil i have now then they can do DDR2 1000 @4-4-4-12@2.2v so that should be fun.Have the extra voltage range to play around with.
    also the 512mb video card is that really needed for playing at 1280x1024? my 7900 when overclocked doesn't even do bad in most games at that res with everything maxed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Of course man, I think you will love them. I was about to get some aXeRAM until you showed me how much the Esoteria's are.
     
  16. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    anyone know where a 15year old can get a job? I want to get the video card,RAM and a quad when i upgrade i want to go all out.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Dia01

    Dia01 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    498 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    QLD, Australia
    McDonalds, they have one in every country don't they?
     
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,390 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    you should be able to get a waiver for your age, course that could be up to your parents, Military you have to get approval to join by parents if your 17.
     
  19. Duxx Guest

    My first job was at Sears, 16! :) I was a sales assistant in the electronics dept, making commission + base = 13$/hour. Sears sucks, but paid good. :D
    P.S. Dont work fast food, its awful, pay sucks, many better jobs.
     
  20. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    8800 512 version and ram
     
  21. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    IDK but there is one 1/4 mile from where i live so that would be easy to get to... I know it would suck but it is a job... Anyways lets get back to the upgrades. so this is what you think i should get...

    8800GT 512mb
    2GB of RAM

    What i am going to try to get

    8800GT 512Mb
    2BGB ram
    AMD 9600BE
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Read this article. Then scroll down and configure a PC setup similar to yours to see what's best. In all, you need both a adequate CPU and GPU.
    Source
     
    p_o_s_pc says thanks.
  23. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Does your board support Phenom?
     
  24. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    I think a 8800GT and a quad would kill what i have now
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,009 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page