1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU Overclocking Advice Needed Please

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by HookeyStreet, Sep 22, 2005.

  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    When I use GigaByte EasyTune 5 to overclock my P4 3.2 to 3.4 I get these readings in the advanced settings:

    Before overclock (@ 3.2GHz)
    FSB 200.00
    Memory Freq 400.00
    AGP Freq 66.00
    PCI 33.00
    Ratio 16.00

    After overclock (@ 3.4GHz)
    FSB 212.00
    Memory Freq 424.00
    AGP Freq 70.00
    PCI 35.00
    Ratio 16.00

    What I would like to know is are these increases dangerous? ie will the increase in the AGP frequency damage my graphics card as I didnt realise that overclocking the CPU would cause all these other changes :confused:

    Thanks in advance guys :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Don't use software to overclock, use a the bios. Also, you don't want you AGP/PCI to increase, so you lock it with your bios. You can overclock with software, but its better in the bios, but lock your AGP/PCI to 66/33 first.

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Ok m8, thx :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,135 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    523
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    Ive locked the AGP/PCI to 66/33, is it ok for the Memory Freq to still be increased? Or can I lock that too? Btw what does 'Linear Frequency Control' mean?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. ChAce New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    204 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    You can't lock your memory, you could divide it but that's not good for performance. After locking the AGP/PCI just keep upping the FSB.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Ya, you don't lock your mem. Some people will just want to overclock their mem and fsb. But memory increases with the fsb, but as ChAce said, you can devide it so if your mem . That is to stop the ram from being unstable and limiting your cpu overclock.

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. ChAce New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    204 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Dividing is usually not the fastest option on Intel rigs, A64's take 0 performance hit when dividing though. On Intel rigs the best way is to lower your timings to 3-4-4-8 and see how far you can get, if that's still very low you can try dividing with better timings.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    I wouldn't say 0 performance hit...but Intels do tend to like Bandwidth and A64 like mem timings.

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. ChAce New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    204 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Its practically zero. In essence you are only upping the multiplier. But yeah, A64's do like very tight timings.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    :D

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. ChAce New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    204 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    So if I'm reading your sig right (you should start OCing in the first place :p), you need new ram mate :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. djbbenn

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,734 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Canada
    Lol...yup your right, I need ram majorly. My ram kills my system atm. :( Overclocking has to wait a bit for a new bios for my board too.

    -Dan
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)