1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU PLL Voltage - what is it and how can it help overclocking?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Sasqui, Nov 7, 2009.

  1. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,368
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    This is on an ASUS Maximus Extreme X38 w/ an E8600.

    I can't seem to break the Prime95 (two workers) long term torture over 4.4 Ghz, I'm at 1.296v according to CPUz. Windows itself is stable at 4.6 Ghz at that voltage. Temps at 66c max (load), 44c idle. OCZ Vendetta DHP cooler.

    Would raising the CPU PLL voltage help? What should I set it to?

    I get almost identical results using 10x, 9.5x, 9.0x & 8.5x multipliers. The board seems to have a 530 or so FSB cap. So far, I haven't messed with the NB voltage.
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Try 1.3v. What is your CPU GTL ratio's set at?
  3. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,368
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Running a test @1.5v PLL now 4.4Ghz, CPU 1.304v at the end of the first round 1024k of Prime... usually fails on the second.

    Ummmm... what's a GTL ratio?
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,368
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Crap, just failed a thread. Thankfully, it fails gracefully...
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    List all your bios options for me please. Sounds like you need a little bump in vcore.
    Sasqui says thanks.
  6. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,368
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    That was not the option I wanted to hear :)

    Trying a 1.6v PLL and a bump in NB voltage... will get back with the values and options.
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,368
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    No luck... another fatal error on one of the workers... bumping up the CPU voltage :rolleyes:
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    pll used to be a big deal but not any more.

    you rarely need to change it at all. only at high OC's.

    im talking like 5ghz+
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,368
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Yikes! I'm hitting 74c now, not over the first round. 1.320v I need to get this thing under water.

    I set the MB and PLL back to Auto... How good is the ASUS monitoring software? I've downloaded a bunch. Is it the "AI Suite"?

    Here we go... starting on round 2 of prime... finger crossed.

    FUCK... failure. Seems to always happen on Core2

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page