1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU shuts down afrer a few seconds/mins

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Rap Dog, May 21, 2008.

  1. Rap Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello all. I have what it seems to be a rather complicated issue, as I've looked for help in like 3 other forums, but the problem remains.

    The problem is "simple". I turn on the computer, and after a few seconds, or mintues, the computer shuts down completly, incluiding the PSU. The time always changes. It sometimes shuts down after 2 seconds of turning it on, and sometimes it gets to the windows installing screen.

    The thing that keeps me worried the most, is the fact that I don't even know clearly wich is the source of the problem, although what I've investigated about this problem tells me that most likely, it's the PSU. Hope you guys can help me out a bit.

    The computer components are:

    SAPPHIRE RADEON HD3870X2 PCIE16X DX10 1GB

    EP35C-DS3R LGA775 C2DUO 1333 DDR2/DDR3 PCIe

    CASE THERMALTAKE VH8000BWS ARMOR+ MX MIDTOWER WO/PSU

    PSU HEC ZEPHYR 750W PFC FAN 120MM SLI 20+4 PINES

    HARD DRIVE HITACHI 500GB SATAII

    MEMORIES DDR2 CORSAIR TWIN-X 4GB (2X2048) 6400C4 800MHZ PC2-6400

    CPU INTEL CORE 2 QUAD Q6600 - 2.4 GHZ 1066 MHZ QUAD 8MB LGA775 B

    COOLER TT CL-P0310 BIG TYPHOON 120 VX COBRE HEAT PIPE AMD/IN

    I also have a screenshot (taken with cellphone) of the computer BIOS' PC Health screen.
    (One thing about that. The memory voltajes read 2.1V, because I tried to rise the voltaje as I red in other forums, that could have solved the problem. I loaded the BIOS optimal settings now, in wich the memories have 1.8V default voltaje). Here it is:

    [​IMG]

    Here's a screen shot of the POST screen:

    [​IMG]

    I really hope anyone can tell me how to fix this! Thanks in advance!

    Oh, and finally. I'm sorry if this doesn't belongs here.
    Last edited: May 21, 2008
  2. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    have you tried open system testing?
  3. Rap Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ?? What's that?

    (Yeah, I'm a noob)
  4. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    take you motherboard and place it on a cardboard box, place only the neccesary components next to it and connect them.

    first put in only your cpu and see if you get beeps (make sure you have a speaker) and then put in video card and ram, you should be able to get to bios and do a post right now, and should be at a point where it says disk boot failure. then attach your hdd and dvd burner and see what happens then, etc.
  5. Rap Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Forget that. I'll do it right now (I'm desperate).

    I'll post back my results in a while.

    For the record, I took the liberty to format that HDD on this computer (did that just yesterday though). Hope that doesn't causes any problems.
    Last edited: May 21, 2008
  6. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    this just helps verify that certain components are working and that there isn't a short. my first impression of this problem was that your motherboard is being gruunded (standoffs, etc. you did use them right) and then when i saw you can get into the bios sometimes i thought maybe it needs an open system test to make sure things work. the beeps would show that your motherboard is fine for the most part and that your cpu is functional, then the post after inserting ram and video card would show that everything works up till that point, and then we're close to pinpointing the problem, etc.

    just a suggestion
  7. UnkAsn93

    UnkAsn93 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    445 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    My house.
    You've got a failure somewhere. But, I'm willing to bet it's the PSU, or something's wrong with the Processor.
  8. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    doubt its the psu, the voltages levels shown by the bios look preety good, though you can never know untill you check with a multimeter,
    not sure if its cpu failure though, cause he does get to the windows install which would mean his cpu did do a good bit of calculations, when i got as5 on my cpu, it wouldn't even load the damn bios or give me memory beeps
  9. Rap Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    By the way, the case didn't come with a speaker, but I connected a spare I had to the motherboard. I always get the single "beep".
  10. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    so you're hardware seems to fine for the most part.. hmm do you have memtest laying around somewhere?
  11. UnkAsn93

    UnkAsn93 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    445 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    My house.
    Well, I can judge that because on an old P4 I had, it was a bad/defective chip, and I could install windows up to 99% and just quit. It had some good instructions, but it had faults.

    I have AS5 all over my CPU right now, and it works just fine. By all over, do you mean like on the pins and whatnot? (My AS5 is right on the AMD XP core)
  12. UnkAsn93

    UnkAsn93 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    445 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    My house.
    With your bios, a single beep is good.
  13. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    it was on one of the pins, i used some iso alcohol to clean it off
  14. UnkAsn93

    UnkAsn93 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    445 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    My house.
    Probably because AS5 is conductive. And having that silver creating a short or whatever, which would cause your problem. Good thing you didn't blow it up! :D
  15. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    im planning on writing a guide on how to clean your cpu with iso alcohol, been asked that question a bunch of times, you think it'll be useful?
  16. UnkAsn93

    UnkAsn93 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    445 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    My house.
    I'd say give it a try, if the demand for cleaning your CPU is high, then you'd get a lot of rep for answering questions that haven't been asked yet! (like the PSU guide, nice guide by the way) :toast:
  17. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    alright cool, btw for the psu guide, imma wikify it tommorow, and finish adding some content and make some updates, and from there on it'll be maintained by the wiki, and i'll put the iso alochol guide up tommorow too
  18. UnkAsn93

    UnkAsn93 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    445 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    My house.
    wikify? :wtf:
  19. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    change the formating of it so that it works in the tpu wiki (current version posted in the wiki isn't formatted) cause its a large guide and i cant update the brands forever ya know, i'll finish the content but the brand-oem list will be wikified and all. expect major updates on the psu guide and a new guide... i aint getting outta the damn hospital for another 2 days -_-
  20. UnkAsn93

    UnkAsn93 New Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    445 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    My house.
    oh, wikify as in make it wiki format. :eek:
  21. Rap Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, here it is:

    Only CPU connected = 3 long beeps series (according to mobo manual, it belongs to "Grahpics card not inserted correctly)

    CPU & Graphics card = same as above

    CPU + GC + RAMS = 1 short beep (OK).


    Now I noticed something I couldn't notice while all this was inside the case.

    the HD3870x2 is very sensitive to movement. It has to be in a certain angle from the card (while inserted, of course) to work properly. Does that means the motherboard is damaged? Or that the GC connection is dammaged?

    I'll cross my fingers.
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    My guess is overheating. Make sure your CPU heatsink is mounted properly.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  23. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    rap dog, in which way is the graphics card moving? also as newtekie said, check the cpu heatsink and make sure its firmly attached and its flush with the cpu
  24. Rap Dog New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It is. Ironically, I was always unsure while it all was in the case. I even installed the cooler while the mobo was installed in the case. But when I took it out just now, I noticed all the locks are secure (by looking under the mobo that is =P)
  25. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    you did apply thermal interface material right?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page