1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

cpu speed up gfx speed down,why?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by tigger, Nov 1, 2006.

  1. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    if i clock my cpu from 4ghz to 4.4ghz,my cpu speed goes up on 3dmark 06 and aquamark 3 but my gfx speed/score goes down,even with my gfx card at the same oc'd clock speeds.why?.

    any ideas?
  2. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Singapore
    Because your processor runs fsater then your gfx card which was a discouragement for him to continue the race thus he gave up when he sees the procesosr improving but not himself. :p
  3. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    :laugh:
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    thx,real helpful answer.
  5. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    I beleive it is all to do with your bus! But I could'nt be to sure! I would clock your cpu back down! :)
  6. DanTheBanjoman SeƱor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Did you lower the FSB and raise the MP? If so that is the problem. If not tell use what you did change besides the clock speed.
  7. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    at 4ghz my settings are as follows-
    fsb=270
    mem=450/900
    vcore=1.33v
    divider=4:5

    at 4.4ghz my settings are-
    fsb=294
    mem=833
    vcore=1.45v
    divider=4:5

    it could be because the mem is lower.i can run it at 4.2 with the following settings too,the mem is higher than it is at 4ghz as well.will this make any differance?.i cannot change the multi i dont think.
    fsb=280
    mem=933
    vcore=1.375v
    divider=10:6
    thx for the replies guys.

    EDIT:with the above settings my aquamark score has gone up from 109000 to 112000.could it be the mem speed at 4.4 then?.thx
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2006
  8. regan1985 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Coventry UNI England
    i dont know why it happens but it does happend to my system to!but i just keep the cpu higher its the main thing to keep high i believe
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    my 3d06 score has jumped at those 4.2 settings too to 5300-

    4ghz-
    [​IMG]
    4.2ghz-
    [​IMG]

    i think i may have found the best settings for my chip.my ram wont do 1080mhz on 1:1 at the 4.4ghz setting,but it will do 933mhz on 10:6 at the 4.2 settings.it is an improvement.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page