1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU spiking is killing me..

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Flemmy, Aug 5, 2013.

  1. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,012 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,883
    You know that crap aka cpu spikes haunted me a few different times even after a clean install. I never did find out what was going on but what I did was install windows with the bios all stock default settings. Installed, i would select dont run windows updates..then one by one I'd install the mobo drivers with a restart after each driver install if it called for it or not. Ever sence I've done it that way I never had any issues with it again. Forgot to add I'd also install most of my software then enable windows updates.

    Btw are you running any side widgets?
  2. Flemmy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Negative, sir.
  3. Ryrynz New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Why didn't you just perform a system restore? It's going to be software related.
  4. Flemmy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I considered that, but for some reason when I checked my restore points - I had none except for the current day that I checked. So I had no valid points to restore to. :/
  5. maksic87

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    42 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    SS Muffin
    Malware

    If I read this thread corectly u have a malware problem. Try to clean it using combofix (google it) if that doesn't work i sugest to do a fresh install from zero. Delete everything,whole HDD.

    Had a problem like yours a while back in a PC game saloon, the virus (malware) was spreading through the network so nothing helped untill i shuted down the local network and reinstalled all of the PC-s in that saloon.

    I hope I helped you.

    Good luck and happy hunting. :eek:
  6. Flemmy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hmm.. interesting. I will dig deeper into this!
  7. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,299 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,539
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    ^Did you even try this?^

    Possible; however, the OP has re-installed the OS... unless, it is coming from the existing MBR(or hidden area) or the install media (like some form of Bootkit or Boot Sector Virus).

    In that case he/she can run Kaspersky's TDSSkiller and it should fix the bootkit or the OP can just fix the problem by running Windows recovery and fix the mbr.

    And, Combofix is a weapon of last resort, if someone does not know what they are doing with it, they can disable their OS... and that will lead to a new set of problems.

    @OP> Are you using a legitimate copy of Windows? Don't get upset by the question; because, if not... that may possibly be a cause.

    Edit:
    You might want to try troubleshooting using MSCONFIG tool.

    Here are some nice tutorials:

    Using Microsoft System Configuration (Windows 7)

    Using Msconfig to troubleshoot conflicts in Windows Vista and Windows 7

    How to perform a clean boot to troubleshoot a problem in Windows 8, Windows 7, or Windows Vista
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2013
  8. Flemmy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes I am using a legitimate copy of Windows 7. And since you mentioned that Combofix can actually f- things up even more - I'm not going to risk anything since I had no idea how to use it, lol. Also, yes I uninstalled my AV and tested - no differences.
  9. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,299 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,539
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    If you try the troubleshooting with MSConfig tool and that does not help.

    You can try something along the lines of Process Explorer or Process Hacker and see what is using the CPU cycles.
    They may give you an idea of what is going on.
  10. Flemmy New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No luck with the msconfig idea, and I've tried Process Explorer already to try and what's spiking. It's nothing specific, just anything that's being ran on my computer.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page