1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU stress testing advice...

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Dr. Spankenstein, May 7, 2008.

  1. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Currently I am using two instances of Prime95 large, in-place ffts to test the CPU. Should I be using small ffts to check? Sould I just go with Orthos?

    What are the standards that most go by in regards to small/large ffts and Priority level?

    I'm currently @ 4.275GHz w/1.408V under load. VID is reported by CPU-z as 1.225.

    Thanks guys!
     
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,263 (5.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    large fft's high priority level...i also like to use WMP while its doing it as music depending on sound card are processed through the cpu....and the diff algorythim it uses mixes it up a little.
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  3. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,231 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I run Orthos + Prime95 for maximum heat output. This will stress the cpu to the max. also I played games while these 2 programs are running in the background.
     
  4. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    Stress testing to me is not very important. So long as it will pass one instance of Prime 95 and a few hours of Crysis, I am good. Some people like to stress it to the point of cracking, I think that it's pointless and harms the chip.
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  5. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Great stuff! Thanks for the advice!

    Keep it comin'...
     
  6. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    i just got my POS small/large FFT stable @ 3.6 :rolleyes: :laugh: i run them for about 6hrs each while running sPi and of course i torture it with a few solid hours of gaming. i do this mainly to check my temps/Vdroop :cool:

    sometimes stress tests will fail but the system will still run your apps fine so take it with a grain of salt ;)

    :toast:
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  7. Rurouni Strife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    124 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I usually run Orthos for 8 hours with whatever settings stress the entire system. That usually works for me.
     
  8. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,240 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
  9. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275

    Yeah, I kinda wanted to test the CPU separately first.
    Then run Memtest86+, then stress the whole system w/games, transcoding or whatnot.
     
  10. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,240 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    According to the link i posted before, it's the other way around: make sure the RAM works @ the target speed, then overclock the CPU to the desired speed and stress it.
     
  11. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Sorry, didn't see that. We must have been poting simultaneously!

    That does make more sense to proceed that way. I'll give it a go!

    Thanks fellers!
     
  12. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,240 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    It's best to make sure your problem isn't the RAM.

    I was having crashes all the time but couldn't figure out what was the problem: turns out it was the RAM ... and the voltages i had on the CPU ...

    Once i had the RAM problem fixed, it was MUCH easier to adjust my overclock.


    Even though that link is for a QX9650 with a DDR3 motherboard, the same principle applies for all CPU / motherboards.
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  13. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,617 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,140
    Try running a loop of the 3D03, yes I said 03, CPU test. I could run 06 and pass at higher clocks than what is allowable by 03's standards!
     
    Dr. Spankenstein says thanks.
  14. Dr. Spankenstein New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    275
    Thanks sneeky! THAT is the kind of info I'm taking about!

    Muchas Gracias!
     
  15. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,617 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,140
    I was in the winter wars OC competition at TRP forums, and it was one of the 5-6 tests we had to run....Look in my sig at the 06 run...got it stable and repeatable.

    Tried running 03 and failed like 5 times , until I got the Oc down far enough to pass. IIRC was about 3.65GHz to pass 03 vs 3.9GHz for 06!
     
  16. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    3DM03 was pretty heavy on the sys, a really good app IMO

    :toast:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page