1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU upgrade for christmas

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by dccool879, Dec 10, 2006.

  1. dccool879

    dccool879 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    340 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    you can see my current specs to the left,
    well anyways they are
    amd athlon 3000+ venice (@2.615 ghz)
    1 gig PC3200 ram
    DFI NF4 DAGF Mobo (pretty much a non ultra, non sli dfi lanparty)
    x800xl
    some other things...
    well i havnt really gone to newegg for a while, and then i went and processors are crazy cheap! so I was thinking i might upgrade my s939 processor. I am looking at:
    AMD Athlon 4000+ San diego- 96 dollars
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103528
    AMD FX-55-130 dollars
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103526
    AMD Opteron 165 Denmark Dual Core-157 dollars
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819103588

    Which of these has the best price to performance ratio? I'm looking into a machine that will be used for battlefield 2, Counter strike 1.6 and Source, and hopefully future released games that will be awesome :) I'm also a Linux user, and I'd something nice and speedy for compiling. Currently, it will freeze when compiling the newest with my AMD 3000+ overclcoked or not, i'm pretty sure it's my PSU, which i just ordered a new one. However my trusty dual P3 computer can compile the latest kernel, just took around 3 hrs hehhh
     
  2. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    imho i would go with the opty, although the 4000+ is a good choice also but oc-wise the optys (batch dependant) are v good overclockers and very stable, good luck with the upgrade whatever you choose, and remember to oc the hell outta that sucker :p
     
  3. dccool879

    dccool879 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    340 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    ya i'm leaning towards the opteron because dual core seems really awesome, and i want to OC with my big ol' freezer 64 :p kinda sucks though (or maybe rocks :] ) because there will be like 69 core processors in 3 yrs
     
  4. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Hi there.

    I am also planning to buy a new cpu. I was thinking about buying a 4200 dual core.
    Is this a better choice the going for the FX55 or the opty?

    Thanks.
     
  5. dccool879

    dccool879 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    340 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    how much was the 4200+ dual core for? was it manchester core?
     
  6. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    it was a 4000+ sandiego @ $96 and opty 165 @ $157
     
  7. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    sometimes you can get 4200+ x2 used, i got mine for 125$ shipped

    it's up to 2750 (250X11 with ram @ 250) and it runs great
    ymmv with any overclock, of course

    i like my dc for folding and general activities, it's pretty cool factor too

    in gaming tho, the 4000+ or fx55 woudl prolly pwn my cpu, until multi threaded games realy take GOOD advantage of dc or qc cpus.

    i would go teh 4000+ over the fx-55 imo, due to price mainly, cuz the multi on the 4000 will not be limiting you much, so the unlockedmulti from the fx won't benefit you much anyways
     
  8. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    I thought it was around 200 dollars.

    Here in Holland those 4200+ 939 are very hard to find. So i looked on Ebay.
    Including shipping it was around 200.

    Did not say which core.
     
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Id get both the FX-55 and the Opty, if I was able.....but honestly, even though the FX-55 rocks, the opty would be better. But, if thats not your budget, go for the 55, its multiplier unlocked and should still serve you very well for 3 years
     
  10. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Also in comparement to the 4200 dual core?

    I heard the fx series are good for gaming. True?
     
  11. dccool879

    dccool879 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    340 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    so the fx 55 and 4000+ would outperform the opty in single threaded gaming?

    and it seems the 4200+ x2 wouldnt be worth getting instead of an opty 165 from threads i've seen doing google searches, i've pretty much got the idea that opterons are just higher quality so they overclock better, and have more cache
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    well most opty 165 can do 3ghz when you oc so it will be tuff for both of the sandy cores to do the same so i say go for the opty
     
  13. dccool879

    dccool879 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2005
    Messages:
    340 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    ok i have another question, both @ stock speeds, opty 165 and venice 3000+, at 1.8 ghz. would there be a massive performance difference?
     
  14. bcracer220 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    426 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    nope, well for multitasking yes but for a single threaded game u wouldnt notice anything (cept if u have a ton of other stuff running). its still best to invest in a dual core though, it will pay off in the long run. out of the choices u have definitely get the opty 165.
     
  15. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    The FX series is great for Gaming.....compared to the 4200, not sure about the Opty as I never have tried it. I would assume so, but those Opterons are beasts!
     
  16. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    How much difference is there between the opty 165 and the 170?
    I can buy the 170 for 20 euro's more. I am a bit more for the dual core. Future wise.

    Thanks
     
  17. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Personally, I would think there would be a slight difference, in favor of the opteron, based on the architecture and execution core....well what I mean is, for the purpose it serves. I dont think the performance difference warrants the extra $ you pay for it though. The opteron would be a better choice out of all 3, but its hard for me to snob the FX 55
     
  18. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Can i install the opty on my board. See specs.
    Supported for: FX, Dual core and 64. Does not state opteron
     
  19. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    i would think you could install the opty no problem, i havent googled but if your board takes 939 and is dual core cabable and crossfire you will pwn the opty no problems. enjoy pushing that sucker to the max, i would
     
  20. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Thanks.

    I will order it now. It has a 2 week deliver time.
     
  21. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,560 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    Which should i take the 165 or the 170? Performance wise.
     
  22. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Yes, that opteron will work in your motherboard. Same socket, same company, etc. The only thing is, you may need to flash your bios, but if you do it regularly (as in, as updates for it are released) you should be good to go.

    The Eagle
     
  23. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,804 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I think the 165 OC better from what I read, but the 170s are pretty damn good too...hard to say...hard to say...Id go 165.
     
  24. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,414 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Opteron 165 all the way. Those are the cherry picked san diego cores, OC like no other.
     
  25. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    Don't mean to steal a thread, but this has been driving me nuts. Is would it be better for me to (see specs at left) get an Opty 165 CCBBE, or get a new mobo, CPU, and RAM and go C2D? I saw a post in another thread and the guy said he wished he hadn't sold his Opty 165 for a C2D because there wasn't too much of a noticable difference other than in benchmarks. The thing is, his system specs didn't say if his C2D was OCed or not.

    EDIT: Here is the post.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page