1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cpu upgrade for hd 7770

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by benxiii, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi guys... I am new here so pardon me for any mistakes
    i have an intel pentium dual core e5400 oc'ed at 3.64 on an asus p5g41tmlx mobo with a 6570 for a small 1366x768 tv.
    I want to play upcoming games on med-to-high settings. I have chosen sapphire hd 7770 but is my current cpu okay for it ? I think it's not. I am also on a tight budget so can't change the mobo or even afford i3+mobo yet. I can manage core 2 duo 2.93 and quad 2.80 but are they enough for the card to avoid bottleneck ?
    The best i can get is those pentium gxx+mobo but plz let me know if i'll be okay with my current cpu or the c2duo/c2quad.
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2013
  2. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,239 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    955
    You are already at your limit with the processor, your current E5400 is probably best suited for your current HD 7770. If you drop in a better video card it'll only be held back and you'll get significant demishing returns.

    In your situation I would keep saving, do a new build. CPU, RAM, and GPU together. If you can't afford Intel, go AMD.
     
  3. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,401 (2.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,250
    Location:
    Oregon
    If your staying at 1366x768 you might be ok. The 7770 is a low end card anyway. It hard to say what frame rates you will get at high settings but it wont be much more then 30
     
  4. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Low end cards are 7670 and below
    You might need an upgrade, but you won't see big difference to tell you the truth
     
  5. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well i haven't changed to 7770 yet.... but are you sure my pentium 3.64 won't bottleneck the card ?
    i'll upgrade in a year or two but there are games to play this year and i want a smooth gaming experience in my little tv
     
  6. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,621 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    that's a rebranded 6670, the slowest 7xxx 28nm part is the 7700 series cape verde gpus.
     
  7. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    or do i need a better cpu ?
    available options : core 2 duo 2.93; core 2 quad 2.80 (matches my cpu socket)
     
  8. Cotton_Cup

    Cotton_Cup

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    378 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Rizal, Philippines
    well if you can get both just get both gpu and cpu ^_^. but if possbile do a whole new rig XD but yeah it would cost more but, hmm,
     
  9. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    but i saw in tpu, tom and other benchmarks that they get decent fps even in 1080p with this card. But they use i7 2600/3700 or something like that.
    And i have half that res.. So normally i'd get some extra performance out of it. But will my 3.64 pentium dual core hold it back ? If so... What about the duo and quad ?
     
  10. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,239 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    955
    Yes your processor will bottleneck it, but the 7770 tier card is your only option.

    And no modern games will not be smooth. Even at low and medium settings you will get occasional lag.

    If you afford a Core 2 Quad AND a 7770 together. You might be in a slightly better position. But I'm not sure its worth the effort.
     
  11. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    that would have to wait :( i need to buy a phone and and ultrabook first... Budget on my pc upgrade is low
     
  12. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,621 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    neither of those will bring you any noticeable performance, I advise you to oc what you have or change the whole paltform (cpu+mobo+Ram).
     
  13. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    even a core 2 quad at 3.0 + ghz ?
    And by smooth i mean an average 40 fps.
    But as you see with my 6570 i played ac3, blackops 2, most wanted 2, battlefield 3 at medium settings or high (no AA+shadow tweaks) and they ran pretty smooth like 35-40 fps average...
     
  14. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so those two and my dual core pentium at 3.8 (that's as high i can reach) will be pretty much the same ?
     
  15. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,621 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    exactly. At the same speed they offer similar performance bacause the architecture are pretty much the same and all of those are just dual cores.
    Better get some cash and change it all since 775 is a dead platform(for some time now).
     
  16. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    345 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I've got a dual core pentium e5200 and I have several e8400's...the only game in my arsenal the e8400's don't love is the Battlefield series. Although, with an HD7770(XFX) and an e8400 on a small monitor at 1366x768...I don't see why you wouldn't be doing just fine. The e8400's are 40 on e-bay and I'd recommend the XFX dual fan unit...dead silent, runs cool...and I've never had a problem with it.

    Better than nothing...:). I've helped quite a few people that would consider this above combo a decent cheap man's gaming rig. Don't always have to have the best...just know the best workarounds...

    Best,

    LC

    P.S. That dual core Pentium...for what it is....is a very decent little chip in its own right. I love my little e5200.
     
    benxiii says thanks.
  17. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,594 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    Australia
    E5200 is still based on the core 2 arch just with less L2 cache? and my m8 ran two GTX 460's with a E8400 and yours is clock alot higher then that, im sure you would be fine with a 7770 at that res easy, you could go as far as maybe a GTX 650 Ti?

    I dont see any if much at all bottle neck with a 7770 TBH
     
    benxiii says thanks.
  18. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i have even seen people suggest 6850 for e5400/5500 XD
    and these pentium chips do overclock better.
    And btw, what was your m8's tv res ?
     
  19. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,802 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Here's my take... a Core 2 E6600 @3.2Ghz with a 6850 could play Crysis at med quality @1920x1200 quite well. Core 2 E8600 @ 4.2Ghz with a 5870 could play Crysis at high quality @ 1920x1200 with virtually no lag.

    Find a 6850 or 6870, assuming you have enough PSU. A 6850 can be had for $100 or less if you're willing to be patient and find a used one.
     
  20. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,787 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,399
    Location:
    Mexico
    Apparently you can upgrade to a Core 2 Quad. Dual cores are fine but Quads are better for the next wave of games. With 1366x768 limiting your GPU output I'd say that the 7770 is plenty. As for the CPU you don't need to upgrade unless you find yourself having low performance.

    The 2.8 Quad is a Q9500 I assume? That's a fine chip. If you want to upgrade to a Quad that's a pretty good option IMO.
     
    benxiii says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    There's a lot of people still using core 2 quad q6600 and runs almost every game on max. The new line of processors like ivy bridge that I have is faster but it's really not that much faster. In benchmarks, it is significant but for gaming and general use then you're not going to see -50% frame rates because of it. Buy Q6600 or something around that and OC to 3.5. Paired with Radeon 7770, you should be able to run almost all new titles on high with more than acceptable frame rates. Honestly, I think you should just cough up the extra $40 for a 7850 if you can afford it.

    If you feel that you'll never upgrade your monitor to 1080p then stick with 7770.
     
    benxiii says thanks.
  22. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well i can't afford a 6850 neitger can i find a cheap one. And i've seen 7770 catch or outperform 6850 in tpu benchmarks.... Specially in crysis 2. Anyway what do you think of core 2 duo 2.93 ? What model is it ? E8XX ?
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
  23. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    yes that chip should run every game you want to play. Unless you want to play metro 2033 at max setting, you should be able to run every other game above 30 fps easily on a 7770 with your 768p monitor.
     
  24. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,802 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,523
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
  25. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i can get a core 2 duo 2.93 ghz (stock speed) for free. But is a core 2 quad worth upgrading ? though it won't cost me much.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page