1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cpu upgrade for hd 7770

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by benxiii, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sorry my mistake, i meant the duo @ 2.93... Is this chip okay ? Or were you mentioning the quad. I can get the duo for free and quad would cost a little. Is it worth upgrading to quad ?
     
  2. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    benxiii says thanks.
  3. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks any way

    .

    so the e5400 won't hold back 7770 much ? I can oc it to 3.8
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 31, 2013
  4. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Maybe a little but now days I would consider most games are bottlenecked by the GPU, not the CPU. My 2500k is definitely bottle necked by my 6870 but then again my 2500k is running at 4.75ghz :p and my 6870 doesnt like to OC very much (crashes even when OCED via CCC but I might have flashed the default voltage to be lower, dont remember).
     
  5. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    First of all, get your details sorted out.
    What Core 2 Duo are we talking about? A E7500 or a X6800?
    Same goes for the quad core, Q9500, Q9505(S) or Q9550(S)?
    Because there's a difference between all of them, a difference that might matter for you, regarding performance. (Which is also affected by RAM)
    Also, energy consumption, since we have no idea what kind of PSU you have and "stock" won't cut it for us. If you happen to have something like a 300W unit, a HD 6850 would probably melt part of it.

    At your resolution, the CPU will take a higher percentage of the load. Going for another dual core would be sidegrading, since you would only get increases in cache and FSB (clock can be changed), thus marginal bump in performance. Quad cores would help, but only where multi-threaded programs are concerned. Not to mention that quads suck more energy when OCing and heating starts being a serious problem.

    For your screen resolution, a HD 7770 or a HD 7850 is fine. As for a CPU upgrade (within the same socket), I wouldn't bother with it unless you plan on playing a game that really requires more than two threads, thus needing a quad-core CPU.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
  6. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,441 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    yea, with the 13.1 drivers the 7770 is on par with a 6850 and uses less power.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    okay... Firstly the core 2 duo is e7500 and the quad is e9550.
    My psu is 400w space, but i'll change it.
    And for multi threading idk what new games will be like.
    Crysis 3, gta v, metal gear revengence, dmc 5, bioshock .... These are the games i'll mainly play... So gta 5 might be a problem since 4 was multithreaded.
     
  8. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Don't think you are going to be able to play those games on high settings with an 7770...

    Also its the q9550 not e9550
     
  9. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    well sorry my mistake....
    But benchmark shows 7770 can run demanding games on high settings even at 1080p with reasonable (30-40) fps. Shouldn't i expect the same in my res (may be a few tweaks and no AA) ? Although they use i7 xxxx cpu's.
     
  10. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Buy mid range parts expect mid range performance.

    Even with my setup up some newer games bring my system to its knees with the settings and AA cranked up.
     
  11. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay... Btw will my stock space 400w be enough to power 7770 ?
     
  12. Liquid Cool

    Liquid Cool

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    324 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Yes....the 400w psu is fine.

    No reason to buy any cpu with a Q in front of it...the premium in this case really isn't worth it. $40 for an e8400 is cheap. I sold a quad q6600 last week on e-bay for $60...a Q9500 will set you back enough to start thinking i3.

    LC
     
  13. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    I had a friend with a 7770 350W which was a crappy one, downclocked
     
  14. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,148 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    The 7770 would never outperform the 6850, it might come close within 5-10% on a good day, but outperform would never happen. Link or it didn't happen.

    Going from a an E5400 to an E8400 isnt wise, they are essentially the same CPU but with a cache and clockspeed handicap. Considering your E5400 is already overclocked @ 3.64Ghz I can't see the benefit buying another dual core. The only sensible CPU choice on socket 775 is a Q9xxx quad core, and only if you can get it cheap.

    Without the CPU upgrade to atleast a Q9xxx, your rig will suffer on Crysis 2 and BF3 and you pose serious limitations on upcoming games.

    BTW, how much system RAM do you have?
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
  15. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I guess the best thing to ask here is what is your budget that you are trying to spend on the cpu and video card.
     
  16. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have 4gb of system ram
    my budget is fixed with the gpu... No matter the price i'll have it.
    And for the psu+cpu i really have a tight budget. $ 50 + anything i can get by selling my e5400 and 6570

    www.techpowerup.com/mobile/reviews/Gigabyte/HD_7770_OC/13.html

    i know it's insane but it's almost the same with most 7770 cards although this one is the best i can find XD

    non-oc :
    www.techpowerup.com/mobile/reviews/AMD/HD_7770/13.html
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 1, 2013
  17. tastegw

    tastegw

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    312 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    7770 is a good gpu, not a beast, but should do you fine imo
     
    benxiii says thanks.
  18. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,148 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    Glitch in the results or a bug in rest run. Sometimes you get odd results which can't logically be explained. But look at all the other games and the 6850 is cearly faster.

    It's the bear minimum. BF3 can exceed this, I've only run 1440x900 and uses about just over 4GB of physical memory.

    Edit:

    Yes I play with max settings. But honestly what was the frame rate like? Use Fraps and monitor it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
  19. benxiii

    benxiii New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    did you run at max settings ?
    tbh.... My 6570 could handle bf3 with med settings and no AA at 1366x768. 4 gb was not a problem then.
     
  20. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,577 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    522
    Location:
    Australia
    He was running at first 1680*1050 then moved to 1080P and it ran most games pretty well except for black ops for some weird reason.

    What he said^ thats exactly what you should do!!

    If you can get it for free then why not, clock it up the same or higher then what you already have and that should be a increase and for free you cant go wrong.

    Honestly if you can get a quad for at 2.8GHz or higher for cheap then go that way instead, many games love more cores, trust me im now running 8cores and im getting increases in all games compared to my older quad.

    The chip would be fine paired with the 7770

    i dont think so, i think it would run pretty sweet with your current set up, but moving to a CPU with more cores is a must in todays gaming for the future.

    Yep i would agree :)
     
  21. Cruise51

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    88 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    I had a similar system with a core 2 duo @2.3GHz and a HD7770. The HD7770 is a pretty good card, it performs the same as a HD6850 and consumes much less power. The cpu is a small bottleneck but I could still game at 1920x1080 fairly well. If you can get a core 2 duo @ 2.9GHz for free, go for it. Once overclocked it would be a great mid range gaming machine. If you can't get the core 2 duo @ 2.9Ghz for free, stay with your current e5400. It's high overclock will remove most of the bottleneck.
     
  22. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    I would go for 7770 for power consumption and less heat
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page