1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

cpu upgrade?

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by krammuel, Sep 18, 2012.

  1. krammuel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    I have the ASRock Extreme4 mb w/Phenom II X3 720BE.
    I did unlock the 4th core with some success, but eventually caused system failures.
    I liked the speed I got from the 4th core unlocked (even bumped the freq to 3010Mhz). So my question is the FX line better then the Phenom II or would I be better sticking with Phenom II but either X4 or X6? Keep in mind I usually don't have much $$ to spend, so around 100-150bucks is about what I can do for now.

    Oh, as a side note: With only 3 cores I get lag on games and slower programs.

    Thanks for any suggestions :rockout:
     
  2. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    from what ive read the x4s give the bulldozer a run for the money. i believe the x4 965 is something like 90 bucks now over at microcenter. i bought mine brand new for 110 with my current build. no issues whats so ever, have it overclocked to 3.9 on a simple watercooling system that was handed down to me. look at my specs, i have everything on ultra for bf3 with absolutely no lag.

    edit: also if you go with the fx series youre gonna need a new mobo. as its am3+ and wont fit a am3 mobo.
     
  3. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,787 (6.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,889
    Location:
    North Carolina, United States
    I'd say go for a FX. For just over $150, you can get a FX-8120, which has 8 cores at 3.1GHz. The FX CPUs overclock really well too, so ~4GHz is entirely doable. Alternatively, Newegg frequently has the Phenom II X4 965BE for $90.
     
    krammuel and xxdozer322 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. krammuel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    I was looking at the FX 6100@3.3Ghz at Micro Center for $109, or would the FX 4100@3.6Ghz for $89 be a better buy?
     
  5. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    that fx4100 is still a quad core. for ten bucks less you can get the 965 and wont have to worry about buying a new mobo.
     
  6. krammuel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    It is an AM3+ MoBo. Go to the cpu support list: http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?cat=CPU&Model=970 Extreme4
     
  7. krammuel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
     
  8. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    ahhhhh i didnt even bother looking into the mobo, thought you were running an am3 mobo. theres a lot of rumors saying that the phenoms still give the bulldozers a nice run. i wouldnt know, maybe those that have had both can atest to that. from what ive read bulldozers are nice overclockers. i really dont know how much of an upgrade it is, im happy with my current budget build.
     
  9. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,602 (8.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,448
     
    krammuel and xxdozer322 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. krammuel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    What I like about AMD :D They are cheap to build. You play games on that system? Do you have ultra settings or atleast high? If yes. How does the system handle it?
     
  11. krammuel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
     
  12. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    yes my bf3 is on ultra everything at 1080p, it handles it like a champ. no compaints, no lag, and absolutely no choppiness.
     
    krammuel says thanks.
  13. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Despite the poor result of the FX vs it's predecessor and against Intel's offerings, they are still a good chip and nothing to be scoffed at.
     
    Aquinus and krammuel say thanks.
  14. krammuel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Yea that is what scared me a bit and why I came here for some sort of advice on what is best to get atm.
     
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    hey sorry you encountered instability, ya some chips have it others dont. Honestly Id look at pricing of Phenom IIs before biting the bullet on a FX.
     
  16. krammuel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Hi!

    Yea thats what we were going over here, but the FX is about the same price as Phenom II (well maybe a bit more, but you get more too?).
     
  17. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,542 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    go for the FX 6100

    Edit: what games do you play
     
    krammuel says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. krammuel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Well was on WoW (but not happy with the new "arcade" like feel to it anymore).
    I probably get Skyrim here shortly and want my system to handle it.
     
  19. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    looks like you already have a decent gpu, so at this point anything you get will be a worthy upgrade.
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    Honestly youre not getting more from FX but if its in easier avail and cheaper go for it.
     
  21. krammuel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Not cheaper because they have the the 965 X4 for the same price as the FX 4100. And this is what I want to know? Which is better the Phenom II or the FX chips?
     
  22. krammuel

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    58 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Looking on Micro Centers site they only show 8 AMD processors. But I know they have more in their store to choose from. I like going there cause they are close to me and I hate waiting for it to get to me. But also I can take it back and get another that day if something is wrong with it.
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,399 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,457
    krammuel says thanks.
  24. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,774 (2.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,615
    I'd be skeptical of a 4100, since these benchmarks show a 965 and an 8150 are neck and neck in games.

    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/102?vs=434
     
    krammuel says thanks.
  25. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,602 (8.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,448
    if it's 965BE vs an FX-Quad core.... go for the 965BE

    Otherwise the FX-6100 is overall a better choice than the 965BE. Runs cooler too.

    Look at my sig- I run them all except the FX-8120 (which I will add to the list next month)

    *Note- The 1045T is also a good chip but I would still buy a 6100 within that price range
     
    krammuel says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page