1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

cpu upgrade

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by gman215, Dec 19, 2005.

  1. gman215 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i will upgrade my cpu soon(maybe at the end of this month) because my cousin going to buy my amd64 3000+
    so I need suggestion on new cpu i can afford any of this two cpu
    first choice amd 3500+ venice
    second choice amd x2 3800+

    and also anyone got new E4 venice yet?
    if the performance good i might get it
    since amd 3500+ quite cheap i might get new mb too
     
  2. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Hey I would go for the X2 3800+. There wouldn't be that much of a difference between the 3000+ and 3500+. I kinda see that as pointless. Thats why I would go for the dual core.
     
  3. gman215 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    any words from dual core user ?
     
  4. wtf8269

    wtf8269 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,495 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Ohio
    Well if you decide to not go dual core yet I would try to see if you could still get your hands on a 939 Opteron CABYE or CABNE and then keep that until socket AM2 comes out.
     
  5. gman215 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i could not found any opteron except opteron 170 (also out of stock right now)
    but opteron 170 to expensive to me the retail shop tend to sell higher price:mad:
     
  6. bigbadwolf284 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    94 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    new york
    dual core-programs,audio-video editing
    single core_games,games,games
    (at least 4 now)
     
  7. possessed

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    If I were you I would go for the X2 (even if you don't use many dual core program, you can use two different programs at time with awesome results)

    as for the M2 socket if you wish to use DDR2 memory (the "big" news that come with it), but the you'll have to change it all (mb, cpu, mem)

    to keep it all and get more performance go for the X2 (a change on your ecs mb would be nice if you intend to do some oc)
     
  8. gman215 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i found opteron 165 in store here but i dont know what stepping
    the price also good
    got some question if i want to buy opteron would my motherboard
    support it and stable(while waiting for new mb)?
    i got latest bios it say dual core supported but does not say opteron supported
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page