1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CPU watercooling fail?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Montalva, Jun 27, 2012.

  1. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Hi, i have made a custom H2O loop for my cpu but my temps seams high..

    I7 2600K @ 4.5ghz 1.26v HT on

    IDLE : c1 40, c2 37, c3 45, c4 38

    LOAD : c1 61, c2 65, c3 71, c4 64

    After just 1min Prime95 blend!

    I have one (1) 120mm SLIM rad, one (1) 240mm SLIM rad.

    Are my temps right or am i doing something wrong?

    Pictures can be added on request!
    EDIT: P.S this is my first time h2o cooling attempt :)
    :toast:
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2012
  2. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,204 (2.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    974
    Location:
    Miami
    What kind of fans are you using?

    Are they in push or pull? are they exhausting or intaking? what is the pump? what is the block?

    Also, temps are ok - you could definitely get better temps, but there is nothing wrong with those.
     
  3. lilhasselhoffer

    lilhasselhoffer

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,615 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    The temps are high for a custom water loop. I would suggest that you've either got an insufficient radiator, an insufficient pump to keep fluid moving at a reasonable pace, or some other issue assuming:
    1) The ambient temperature is not high.
    2) There isn't an air bubble in the pump, causing fluid not to flow.
    3) You've actually got the radiator plate attached to the CPU, with a sufficient (read: not too much and not too little) amount of thermal paste.
    4) Fans running over the radiator are working at 100%.


    I'd recommend, having no information related to this custom loop, that you seriously review what is going on before proceeding.

    Some other questions that need to be answered before we can offer targeted help:
    1) What is in the custom loop (radiator, pump, cpu radiator (commonly called block), tubing, etc...)?
    2) What components are in the loop (CPU, VGA, etc...), and in what order?
    3) What is the ambient temperature?


    Edit:
    Added underline to highlight that temps are not high in general, but just for a custom loop.
     
  4. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Im using the stock Corsair fans from my 550D case for push on the 240rad and a fractal design 120mm for pull for the 120rad.

    they all exhaust the air out of the case.

    Pump: EK-DCP 2.2
    Block: EK-Supreme LTX

    I have some (MANY) Alpenföhn 120mm pwm fans if they are better for the job?
     
  5. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Alphacool NexXxoS Pro v2 Rads 10/13 tube

    Only CPU, Res-pump-rad-rad-block
    Pump: EK-DCP 2.2
    Block: EK-Supreme LTX

    Today its 16c outside and indoors 20c
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2012
  6. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,112 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    395
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Temps are good in general but kinda of high for a loop imo.. Me thinks its hot in your home or you could do a little fine tuning..
    Hassle seems to have u taken care of.. ^^
     
  7. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    yeah ill change my fans to intake instead of exhaust.. it might help :)
     
  8. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,043 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,151
    That's a joke, right? Do not add to the temperature inside your case. If you want to improve your loop (a drawing would be nice) then place them outside your case and take advantage of the 20 C of your room. You have (my guess) 30-40 C inside your case so you will win around 10 C in CPU temperature.

    Edit: I see that you have 580 in SLI so you might have even higher temps inside your case.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  9. MasterInvader

    MasterInvader

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    275 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Portugal
    First the DCP2.2 [400lt/ph] it´s a ch..... pump, sorry get a MCP655 [1200lt/ph]

    Regarding the "slim" Rad´s 30mm´s? If so get some proper rad´s minimum 50/60mm
    The choice of fans depends on the rad low or high density fin´s [rad].
     
  10. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    do you think that 10/13 tube is the "bottleneck"?
     
  11. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    Corsair 550D
     
  12. MasterInvader

    MasterInvader

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    275 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Portugal
    240 Rad EK-XTX[60mm] in the front with push/pull.
    120 Rad EK-XT[50mm] in the rear push
    OcCool/EK/XSPC Dual 5.25 bay for MCP55

    It´s possible with the 550D
     
  13. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Tubing size doesn't mean anything in watercooling, I can assure you that differences in temperature are very negligible, we are talking about a quarter of a celsius degree.

    My bet is that you don't have enough water flow and the water is not moving fast enough to transfer the heat in reasonable amounts.
     
  14. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    240 Rad EK-XTX have it dont fit..
     
  15. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,641 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I disagree

    Isn't that 1/2" tubing (10-13mm)? If so, it should be fine.

    Do you have a resevoir? Can you see how much flow your getting? Could be a vapor lock, Make darn sure the entire system is full.
     
  16. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    Sasqui says thanks.
  17. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    MT Alex and cadaveca say thanks.
  18. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,641 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Can't get your last image to show, but why does the resevior have BOTH blue and clear liquids in it? If you are getting good flwo through the system, the resevior should be swirling or at least giving the appearance that liquid is moving!

    OK, I agree ;)
     
    radrok says thanks.
  19. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    if i open the tap liquid would splash out of the res. And the "white" are bubbles from all the whirling in it :) JK!

    it is i dont know how to say it in English.. kondens?
     
  20. Montalva

    Montalva

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    124 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Stockholm
    And yes the rads are full, i have done every thing to fill them up and i cant get more in them and there is no sound of air/water.. you know, when they are filling.. damn my ingrish :)

    Gonna re install windows so, as someone famous would say "ill be back"
     
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,659 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,052
    Take the 120 radiator out of the loop. You're using a rather weak pump and I think the extra radiator is decreasing flow enough to possibly increase temps a little. Aside from that, temps are almost common for a 2600K with HT on.
     
  22. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,641 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Understood! You're doing fine :)

    erocker is probably right, though I am surprised at the diff. I know it's apples and oranges, but my Core2 @ 4.2 Ghz under mega load doesn't get over 37c.
     
  23. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Are those temps really considered common for a 2600K on water with HT on? I have mine at 4.4 ghz with ~1.36v and get slightly lower temperatures on air both at idle and under load :wtf:
     
  24. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,133 (3.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    The first thing that stood out to me were the weak fans. Stock case fans for a 550D arent going to push nearly enough air through a rad, they are extremely weak.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,659 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,052
    It's a little higher than common but they aren't crazy temps. I'm running a 2x120 slim radiator on my 2500k at 4.8ghz 1.3v and max out on one core around 70c. Like I said, weak pump, angled fittings coming off of the CPU block and not enough head pressure will result in the temps he is getting.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page