1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crackling audio. Skyrim + other games

Discussion in 'Games' started by Aceman.au, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Ok so I've just run The Elder Scrolls: Skyrim and right on the menu screen straight off the bat, my audio is crackling. I loaded up a game and played and the crackling stops, I then open the menu and the crackling comes back, then close it and it stops.

    Other games this happens in are:
    LOTR: War of the Ring (very old, but I've played it on Win7 before without issue)
    Starcraft 2
    And I think WoW (can't remember, haven't played since August last year)

    The crackling is very loud and very annoying. I tried to FRAPS the problem but the audio came up clean in the recording.

    What do?

    Other games I play without any issues at all:
    Eve Online
    COD4
    Mount & Blade
    CS:GO
    LoL
    Minecraft
    Diablo 3
    PCSX2 (PS2 emulator)
    Battlefield 2
     
  2. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,765 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,650
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Update drivers. Uninstall and install newest drivers. Reinstall codec pack if using one (K-Lite, etc). Maybe remove codec pack and see if goes away. I had an issue recently with an older game...updating the codec pack fixed it.

    You could also remove and reinstall openAL too.

    Research crackling audio with those games.
     
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  3. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
  4. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,966 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,998
    Location:
    Oregon
    Are you using the frontheader? I ran into a problem resently and the interference inside the case was causing the problem. Used the rear aduio port and it stopped
     
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  5. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    I'm using a 7.1 surround sound headset I have to use the rear jacks.
     
  6. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    692 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Toronto
    is it fine in stereo? (2.0)

    does it have any relation to the framerate (vsync on/off or cap to 60)

    i knew someone with crackling skyrim but that was about it

    oh did you also imply it's crackling while fraps is recording? does an audio recorder pick it up?

    there's no sennheiser software right, it's entirely part of your sound 'card'? there might be some settings to tweak there like buffer size
     
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  7. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    I was using Sennheiser PC 360s before I got the Razer Tiamats for the surround sound. Do they install a driver?

    And I was saying that any audio recorder won't pick it up.
     
  8. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    692 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Toronto
    so it must be directly part of the sound card output or its driver settings (i can make my DAWs crackle if i lower the buffer length too much for example, so some sound cards let you control this globally)
     
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,559 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    IA, USA
    If you're using Realtek, I actually have the least problems using Microsoft's generic Windows 7+ HD Audio driver. I get crackling with Realtek's driver.
     
    Aceman.au says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,076 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    My Skyrim has slight pop or two at the main menu.

    Are Taimat's USB? Do you hear it when there's no sound being played?
     
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  11. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Yes and yes
     
  12. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    I'll give it a try
     
  13. alwayssts

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    365 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Are you using a usb 3.0 port?

    If so, try usb 2.0

    fwiw, usb 3.0 has given me similar problems (not to mention the obvious bluetooth/wifi issues etc). There are many issues with using those ports, and headphone compatability is amongst them.
     
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  14. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Ok I got a list, I'll check it when I get bored of Final Fantasy X and post back if any of them work.
     
  15. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,076 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    USB headphones have never been kind to me. They always hiss, pop and crackle. The fact that you can hear it when no audio is being played suggests it's a power /connection issue.

    Do you have any 3.5mm or RCA based headphones you can try?
     
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  16. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    No idea what either of those are.
     
  17. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Do I just uninstall Realtek High Definition Audio in the device manager? Or is there more to it?
     
  18. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,559 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Yeah, if you uninstall Realtek (or "Roll Back Driver"), it will fall back to the Microsoft driver.
     
    Aceman.au says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Ok thanks
     
  20. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,076 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    311
    3.5mm is typical stereo type connection jack found on smaller sized headphones. RCA is another type of connection but ignore that for now.
    If you have any generic headphones that are jack plug, instead of USB, try those and see if the noises still occur.

    Or have you done that already?
     
  21. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Yes I tested non USB headsets
     
  22. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    692 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Toronto
    you didnt confirm if basic 2 channel stereo has no crackles

    also if you have a setting anywhere for the audio buffer size (then increase it, crackles should be gone if this is the issue)

    another wacky idea, just for testing, is to set the affinity of skyrim & maybe the audio driver process if there is one to a single core of the cpu
     
  23. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,446 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Ok I moved the headset to a USB 2.0 slot and uninstalled the realtek drivers. Crackling has stopped in Skyrim. Probably in other games. Too, but I'll check.
     
  24. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,559 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,495
    Location:
    IA, USA
    USB uses whatever DAC chip is in the headset and completely circumvents the Realtek DAC. The Realtek DAC only drives the 3.5mm stereo jacks found on the front and rear (I/O area) connections. If you're using USB to drive the headset and have been this entire time, as newconroer said, there's an electrical problem likely between the DAC and the woofers or the DAC itself is malfunctioning.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page