1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Creative Announces Sound Blaster X-Fi MB2 Software Suite

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 29, 2010.

  1. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,004
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    And many features work on non EAX games as well. Like CMSS-3D that creates incredible 3D positioning on only 2 speakers (i'm talking proper 3D space positioning, not some cheap echo effect filter), Elevation Filter handles reproduction of sounds above and below so you perceive them the same way you do in real life (they just sound different if they are above or below you).
    And also sounds that are close to you sound very different. So you can always tell if a car is trying to pass you by or zombie is tearing you on the right side in L4D. Most ppl don't even know these things exist and affect sound because they all just run around screaming how Creative sucks. But as an old user of Aureal Vortex based soundcard and long time Creative user i know how to appreciate good sound. Not just in terms of raw quality but in terms of proper 3D sound positioning. Been taking sound as advantage in gaming for ages and have been accused of wallhacking several times, because i could read the 3D sound so well, it looked like i'm using a wall hack.
     
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    No but crippling the hardware by charging for the software to make it run is shitty whatever way you look at it, unless you wouldn't mind paying ATI/NVIDIA for drivers? same thing.
     
  3. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    what?:( crippling hardware by charging for software

    :confused:

    its not creatives hardware with the MB software, its their software and they charge for it(I would say rip off people though) but its there software and they have the right to charge for it.

    would you want want to be a artist and bundle a music cd with a cd player and someone loses the cd then pirates it, of course not.
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,004
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Well, if you don't like Creative software part you can always use basic drivers provided by the core vendor. Usually Realtek or ADI...
     
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,959 (5.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Ohio
    You mean I can use drivers for my Audigy 2 ZS that aren't Creative drivers, or some form of Creative drivers? I would love to actually be able to use that card without all the issues I have with it with Creative's drivers.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,004
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I was talking about X-Fi MB software. You can use it or you can just use base drivers that were meant for that device in the first place.
     
  7. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto


    The X-Fi MB is a software product.
    If you buy Office 2010 and lose the box with the cd-key, microsoft won't give you a new one. If you buy Photoshop and lose the serial, Adobe won't give you a new one.

    You buy a motherboard that bundles a game. If you lose the game's serial, the developer will not give you a new one.

    Now, do you understand the ridiculousness of your complaints?
    You're actually complaining that Creative isn't the first company ever that compensates their customers for lost serials.

    Then again, it's Creative. Any chance to bash Creative is a good one, even if the reasons are completely shallow.
     
  8. D4S4

    D4S4

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    697 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    sooo, it's Creative bashing week? :toast: :p
     
  9. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Its not just that. You cant use the serial more than 5 times. That's what pissed me off. If you reinstall windows or you reinstall the software for 5 times it's gone. :shadedshu
     
  10. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,004
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I think i've re-installed it more times and it's still working. But i can't be sure. You can still contact their tech support. Going to their forums for advice is also useful. I can say for sure that they will sort this out since you still own the software and valid serial. Windows work the same way. I have to call MS every time i re-install Vista. Though i use disk imaging so i only have to do that if i change my hardware too much (last time it was when i had to RMA my mobo).
     
  11. exodusprime1337

    exodusprime1337

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,188 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    342
    sooo... is this software out, or no... i can't find a dl, and i didn't have to enter a key for my software... crosshair IV here?
     
  12. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    when you install from a cd sometimes you won't need the key because its in the cd but when you download it from their site then key or trial.

    its not out
     
  13. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    X-Fi MB 2 is now on Asus's site if you want to try it.

    Look under the RAMPAGE III GENE for the software.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page