1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Creative releases x-fi Console for Vista

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Hawk1, Sep 7, 2007.

  1. Hawk1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,249 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Location:
    The Big Smoke, Canada
    Not sure if this belongs here but by coincidence, I was going to (re)install my Xfi Xtremegamer card with vista and while doing some searching, found Creative has listed this on their site today for download (sorry, don't know how to shorten this).

    http://us.creative.com/support/downloads/download.asp?MainCategory=209&nRegionFK=&nCountryFK=&nLanguageFK=&sOSName=Windows+Vista+32-bit&region=1&Product_Name=Sound+Blaster+X-Fi+XtremeGamer&Product_ID=15853&modelnumber=&driverlang=1033&OS=26&drivertype=0&x=23&y=13

    Anyway, for those with xfi and vista, and not already using the Pax or the "unofficial" Creative suite for vista, here it is. I'll be giving it a shot tonight.
     
  2. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Im dling it installing soon enough..
     
  3. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    O so you don't have to order the CD anymore. Plenty of people bitched about that one, and with good reason too. Creative wanted to be greedy with their bandwidth and not offer the software only the drivers to be able to download.
     
  4. ShadowXP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Larvik, Norway
    Until and unless Creative actually releases a driver-set for Vista that allows me to still run Quadrophonic or Surround-sound, I'm not going to try this one out. It's retarded that one HAS to have the damn CD that came with the soundcard to get full use of the card's capabilities.

    Can anyone shed some light on whether or not Quad/5.1/7.1-sound works after installing this package on Vista?
     
  5. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    how would I test 5.1? I remember with onboard the ranga tune out of each speaker when testing. and hopefully you dontr say game! lol I dont have time atm to do that!
     
  6. Specsaver New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Planet Earth, The North Part of It
    You did not quite get your head around Vista yet, did you?

    I have X-Fi, installed the online driver available since months and have the surround option...

    If you go control panel --> Sound -->Manage audio devices -->Playback --> Speakers and hit Configure button you will see all the options there:

    [​IMG]
     
  7. ShadowXP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Larvik, Norway
    Okay, maybe I phrased myself clumsily. Allow me to flesh out my statement.

    I run an XtremeAudio-card, which is the entry-level X-fi card. For this card, there were NO drivers for Vista that allowed it to be set up in quad-speaker (or higher) modes. And trust me, I've tried just about every Vista-driver on the Creative webpage, AND talked to Creative directly about it (they use the company I work for as one of their sales-channels here in Norway), without any success. The ONLY way I was able to get Quad-speaker or higher audio was to revert to the CD that came with my card. In other words; The WindowsXP-driver/applications-set. Those work just fine.

    For the higher versions of the X-Fi-series, there were, as far as I know, drivers that gave multichannel audio-support straight off the bat in Vista. But not so for the XtremeAudio.

    And that's why I'm reluctant to update the drivers, since I don't want to loose the ability to run multi-channel audio on my card (which I've realized is a cheap POS soundcard, marginally better than the one onboard on my motherboard :p).

    Which card are you running?
     
  8. Specsaver New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Planet Earth, The North Part of It
    I got xtreme music card.
    Surround sound configuration is pretty basic feature and I cannot imagine it would be left out for you card. If you installed loads of different drivers chances are this messed up the system.
    As for xtreme audio there is just one driver listed on the x-fi help page called
    "Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio Pack 1.04.0077".
    If I were you I'd do a clean install. That is: clean Vista install.
     
  9. ShadowXP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Larvik, Norway
    I know about the new driver set =) I'm just highly skeptical about installing them, when I remember the amount of fiddling I had to go through in order to get multichannel-support back from when I last installed the web-drivers from Creative. The driversets before 1.04.0077 did NOT give you full multichannel-capabilities of the XtremeAudio-cards, which is something that Creative caught merry hell for from multiple fronts.

    That being said, I'll give these a shot just for the hell of it. Besides, my comp needs a reinstall soon, anyway, as I've got new hardware coming in :toast:
     
  10. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    works just fine. i tried it out earlier today with condemned criminal origins
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page