1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Creative X Fi sound card will not output to 5.1

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by hv43082, Aug 1, 2009.

  1. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    I just recently swapped my mobo and cpu so I reinstalled GPU and sound card drivers. GPU works fine but the the creative audio control will not accept 5.1 speaker setup. Every time I switch the setting to 5.1, it jumps back immediately to 2.1. I also tried to do it under window sound setting and get the message device format not supported. So I only have sound from the 2 front speakers. This is the latest driver for Win Vista X64. I also used driver sweeper. Spent over 2 hrs searching for answer but no dice. My mobo does have a stand alone x-fi sound card so it's not a conflict with built in audio. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.
  2. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    What speaker system are you using?

    When I set up my X-fi forte, I had to set my Logitech Z5500 to (Effect: 6 ch Direct) and then make sure that Windows sound was able to test each speaker. After it tested, just went threw the set up and it was there..
  3. Darren

    Darren New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,936 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    I'm presuming that 5.1 worked fine before swapping the motherboard and CPU?

    Are you using analogue or digital connections?
  4. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    Yes, it is annoying. The speaker is Z5500 and using analog. Yes, it was working fine prior to changing the mobo. Window was unable to test the speaker setup.
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I'd try and set it up via Direct. The only way that Windows would even be able to test was if my Input was on direct, and Effect was "6 Ch Direct"... The other effects wouldn't hear a thing and kept on getting the error you got if I just flew threw it..
  6. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    It's set up via Direct. I am running out of ideas.
  7. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Yeah... if it's not doing it on direct, 6ch... then I'm out for ya...


    Sorry bro..
  8. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    Thanks for trying. Time to reformat the drive...PITA.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page