1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

creepy low temp or Bug ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by KapiteinKoek007, Feb 2, 2012.

  1. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    hi i use CPUID Hardware monitor prog and it reports (wich i think is the north/southbrigde) a temp of -54°c yes u read it correctly haha.
    screenie:

    [​IMG]

    i guess this is a bug or something cuz my place does get cold @ night but not -54°c haha

    can someone confirm this ?
     
  2. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,621 (6.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,143
    Software or sensor error. If MSI has software for temps, I would try that.
     
  3. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    Location:
    Portugal
    And, somehow, you're not concerned with everything else? :wtf:
     
    Cybrnook says thanks.
  4. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    All readings everywhere is off and totally wrong. :p
     
  5. mstenholm

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,069 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,172
    Well he did say it was cold in the mornings...:laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,845 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Its borked, -54'c is almost as cold as the antarctic. If you are still in Tshirt in shorts while its -54'c youre either God or just incredibly lucky to still be alive and posting
     
  7. unsmart

    unsmart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    480 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    I've used MSI mobos for years and there always wrong:laugh: and put out crazy numbers. I bought a cheap[$10] IR pen to check temps and a multimeter for voltage. There bios readings in hardware monitor are close most the time they seem to read the CPU temp 4c low all time:wtf:
     
  8. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I would try restarting the program or the whole computer. If that doesn't fix it then try re-installing the software to make sure its not hardware problem.
     
  9. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    @Delta6326
    i just rebooted and used ccleaner to clean registers etc etc..

    @JP/Frick
    well in winter time at night time it can freez slightly in my room, like -1°c/-2°c thats a combo of trying to save money on the electric bill and poor isolation. on the upside i got "great" ambient temps for ocing and such :p
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
  10. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    ya gota like his optimism init:roll: i dont fancy poor isolation:p

    oh im trying poor now but isolation too:D

    try HWINFO64 or 32 it is a bit different and may not suffer the same missread of sensor, it and any other might tho, and using more then one at a time can cause conflicts and missreads
     
    More than 25k PPD
  11. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    739
    Location:
    Portugal
    ^Do this. On my laptop, both programs don't give the same reading. HWINFO, however, does have the same readings as AIDA.
     
  12. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    gotta be wrong... the airflow to the hdd shouldnt be 100c when everything else is so cold
     
    More than 25k PPD
  13. Ammonite

    Ammonite New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    50 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Christchurch, NZ
    Its worth adding that a lot of monitors like this are notorious for producing pseudo-readings, often of hardware temperatures and fan speeds that are simply wrong. To my knowledge, this program has already raised questions as to how accurate the details really are by other users.

    I wouldn't count on information from a monitor that isn't officially from the hardware vendor.
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,808 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    This isn't a new or uncommon thing. Looks like that program isn't reading anything correctly. Update the program or get rid of it and use something else.
     
  15. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    This.


    OP look into Coretemp and RealTemp for some good CPU temp info.


    I used to use Everest to monitor everything else before they changed it. That was a great program and accurate too.
     
  16. KapiteinKoek007

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    245 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15

    yeh i already use coretemp for my g15 lcd monitoring, and realtemp just for the cores/vga temp, also i use speedfan to back-up those other readings. and all the readings in HW Monitor are the same as in realtemp/coretemp/speedfan, so i KNOW that the only faulty reading is the one reporting -54°c.
    i tried using everest but its just not my thing... its to large for what i want. HW monitor gives you all the info in 1 small window.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page