1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

cross-site scripting

Discussion in 'Comments & Feedback' started by a111087, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,221
    uh?
  3. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
    that's what I said, but it did it to me a few times already
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,221
    can you explain what you are doing and what happens?
  5. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
    When I go to techpowerup.com (using Firefox 3.0.4) I sometimes (about 30% of the time) get this:
    [​IMG]
    this is what no script console shows:
    [​IMG]

    Right after that I got the message from Adobe reader saying it can't open pdf file in firefox because ... well, I just can't get it to work with latest firefox. Then page is transfered to the link below:
    http://76.74.239.143/zzaweoiweoiw/pdf.php?id=6105&vis=1

    That is all. I don't know what that is. I'm probably making too big of a deal out of it.

    Oh, and no-script is set to allow all script and it still does it.
  6. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    you must have some sorta virus/worm/spyware/etc.
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,221
    anyone else see this?
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    not me. sometimes the home pages stops loading after the tpu logo pops up though if that means anything.
  9. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,513 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    844
    nope not to me.
  10. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
    I have nod32 running in background all the time
    I'll try some free anti-adware/spyware to see what is going on

    EDIT:
    Ok, I found one trojan, but it just displays web content on your desktop saying that your computer is infected...
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2008
  11. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    I'm using Firefox and NoScript and that never happens to me.
  12. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
    Have u did some tweaks in about:config in firefox. Try resetting all the changes u made.

    go to the address bar and type about:config. It's for advanced tweaking.
  13. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
    didn't do any tweaks there
    and this windows is about 2 weeks old
  14. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Hate to say it, but if you Google just part of that thread there is some discussion of an "exploit" out there that redirects you to the very document you have listed. I would run a few different Anti virus programs as well as CCleaner to rule out any exploits. (Newsvine)

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&q=http://76.74.239.143&btnG=Search
    a111087 says thanks.
  15. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
    lol, that sucks!
    it doesn't redirect me to pdf file anymore, but i still see the cross-site script sign
    oh well, I didn't do an upgrade to run less anti-virus programs :))
  16. a111087

    a111087

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,703 (1.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    188
    Location:
    US
    ok, its gone now for sure.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page