1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crossfire 5770 problems. PLEASE HELP

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by >>PhoeniX<<, May 9, 2011.

  1. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Ok so currently I am running this:

    MSI 890FXA-GD70
    AMD 1090t OC'd 3.64GHz
    8GB DDR3 1600 Ram
    CrossfireX XFX 5770 (Core 875/Mem 1250)
    850w PSU HALE90
    Acer 20" DVI monitor

    So basically when I play BFBC2 there is the annoying flashing. When there is a crater left from say a tank or grenade it flashes. The craters flash either right away or after being played after a minute.

    In Medal Of honor (the new one) I get these random screen flashes where the screen goes black for literally like one frame and then goes back. The harder combat gets (more gunshots, explosion) it gets works. Effecting every couple frames.

    I really do not want to damage my hardware in anyway and even with setting tinkering I can still not get this to go away. I have updated Catalyst and I have even reinstalled games. This issue started appearing when I got my second 5770 about a week ago.

    If you guys have any suggestions it would be more than appreciated. Thanks! InerTia* :banghead:
  2. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,600 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,802
    Location:
    Oregon
    Are those stock clocks on the GPU? Native resolution?
  3. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    No they are not. Even with no overclock (fans kicked up of course) it still flashed. Yes my res is native.
  4. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Location:
    Singapore
    Wasn't the 11.4c hot-fix supposed to remedy screen flashing?
  5. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I guess not ha.. I have heard that the 5000 series have been terrible for CFX. I am thinking about selling them as a "Crossfire Bundle" and getting 6970's or 6950's. I want to be able to Trifire though...
  6. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    Machine I built with 5850's in crossfire had the exact same issue in the exact same game. Remedy was a driver release. Which version are you running?
  7. Evo85 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    459 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Indy, IN
    Mine work fine in Crossfire. Can even take the core up to 1ghz@ 1.3v.
  8. roy cline

    roy cline New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    seminole tx
    im running 2 5770's and the 11.2 drivers worked well. i tried 11.4 and i had problems in bc2 and in a few other games.try to disable AMD overdrive and use msi afterburner..that helped me.
  9. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I use 10.4 and I have had terrible results. I do use MSI afterburner, and I can only control one fan on the desktop but when I get into game it kicks up the second fan. I am thinking about running my new card solo just to see if the card is already bad. Then I can RMA it. I will try 10.3 and 10.2 and see where I get the better results.
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,899
    Why are you using such old drivers? Or do you mean you are using 11.4, 11.2, etc?
  11. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Ohhhh yes. 11.4. My bad. I am going to try 11.3 and 11.2
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,899
    Just try 11.2's. From what I've read around the web they seem to be the best for 5770's in CrossFire.
  13. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Location:
    Singapore
    http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/AMDCatalyst115ahotfix.aspx

    Maybe these can help you as well?
  14. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I will download both 11.2 and the new 11.5. Thanks Report back if I get any results
  15. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
  16. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    I have an NZXT Hale90 850w 80 Gold PSU. I think it does the Job. Just sayin. And the drivers didnt work :( I hate this so much.
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,899
    No, that PSU has plenty of power for those cards along with plenty of amps.
  18. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    So basically I went and installed just my new card. I got these little random color flases off of things... Bad company two I got little color blobs. But my old card had those a swell. I can not RMA my first card, but should I RMA my new one?
  19. roy cline

    roy cline New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    seminole tx
    try driver sweeper and install 11.2 drivers and see what happens . im no expert like most that post here in tpu but i DO know i had alot of the same issues and the cancer is gone now.good luck.
  20. JATownes

    JATownes

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,824 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    ^^ This is what I would recommend. Driver Sweeper in safe mode, after an uninstall, then reinstall 11.2, and see how that works for you. Good advice from Roy. :toast:
    roy cline says thanks.
  21. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,509 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Thank you, I may not bother in future; I am sure AMD just certify PSU's for the fun of it.

    The coloured blobs are caused by low voltage to the core VPU OC and or memory; that aside the psu may be faulty as these artifacts appeared when the first card was installed.

    atb

    Law-II
    Last edited: May 10, 2011
  22. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Well when I got the color blobs I had my 900/1250 overclock going. Also I was using OCGenie Light from Control Center to overclock my CPU (Which I shut off) and my system seemed to get on its feet a bit more.

    When I ran my primary card solo the artifacting and flashing seemed to go down. I am positive it went away. Then I installed my secondary card and I started to get the flashing again. I am thinking I should RMA it because I really think it is the base of my issue (I have used that PSU on three cards fine). But I will definitely try that driver sweeper.
  23. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Bump
  24. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,883 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    377
    Location:
    Singapore
    Can you somehow capture these colour blobs? They could be graphic artifacts. How are your GPU temps during gameplay?
  25. >>PhoeniX<<

    >>PhoeniX<< New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    131 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    They are in the 50-55 range on 75% fan. I will try to record these blobs next time I am home. I think its just irony that this laptop I am on in school is artifacting like crazy. They just told me to restart in and it was normal...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page