1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crossfire 7950/7970 owners, is it stable?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Phusius, Feb 5, 2013.

  1. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Thinking of buying a second 7950 since I can sell both free games for around $100 making total cost for another Sapphire 7950 $200 free ship no tax...

    Just worried about issues, most games will start up and run fine in Crossfire by now I assume? Are there any instances where I would need to disable the second card like on a really old game?
  2. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,823 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,899
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No issues on most popular titles, single monitor. Some titles wait a few months before getting crossfire profiles, but now we have the ability to set Crossfire profiles for individual apps, so it's easily overcome.
    Phusius says thanks.
  3. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    498 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    I haven't played every game in existence but I've had no issues since about midway through last year (12.7 betas). The Crysis 3 beta is also pretty broken but I don't think that's a crossfire-specific issue.

    I have experienced stuttering in some titles, but it's always been fixable either by using MSI's framerate limiting function (limiting the framerate to 60 on my 60 Hz monitor) or by using Radeon Pro to basically do the same.

    The only game I have where I need to disable crossfire to improve performance is Morrowind.

    As long as you are willing to troubleshoot if issues come up, crossfire is fine.
    Phusius says thanks.
  4. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    thanks guys, I am going to bite the bullet and do it. $200 for another 7950 can't beat it, especially if I get lucky and this one overclocks to 1200 core too lol
  5. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    493 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    No issues yet mate all sweet. :)
  6. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,644 (7.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,973
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I think me and Dave were talking about this a while back, and my two 7950's run like shit off a shovel, I even got insane clocks on stock voltage too. I was so impressed I invested in 144hz, and 60fps in metro 2033 is nothing to scoff at! Just don't expect decent temps in xfire, mine get pretty hot at 1ghz core
    Phusius says thanks.
  7. Grnfinger

    Grnfinger New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    639 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    213
    Location:
    Canada
    I know it's not a 79X0
    But I run 7870's and haven't had a single issue yet.
    I play FarCry3, Mass Effect 3 , just started the beta of Crysis and hope to give Dead Space a go this weekend. If I wasn't target practice for every Black Op's player on the planet, I'd play that more.
    All play without a single hiccup, Highly recommend the second card.
    Phusius says thanks.
  8. Stu @ MSD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    25 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    I run 3x 7970's and if I am not benching on HWBot then I am playing, COD BO2, Arma II, Far Cry3 or Max Payne 3 at 5760x1080 @ 120hz and never have any dramas since CCC13.2 was released.

    Some games run a tad better in Crossfire so i tend to leave just 2x 70970s enabled if im not benching.
    Phusius says thanks.
  9. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    thanks, yeah I already decided to bite the bullet and get a second 7950. by the time I sell the two free games the cost will be around $210 for the second card, lol... so yeah... :)
  10. Stu @ MSD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    25 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Enjoy it mate. I would advise you install the CCC 13.2 Beta 4 drivers unless you are planning to play Crysis 3 as theer are a few anamolies with B5 on other games - most notably COD-BO2.
    Phusius says thanks.
  11. GamerGuy

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    180 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Babylon 5
    I play games that support EF surround res of 5760x1200 on my main rig which has 3x HD7970, BF3 is quite playable at Ultra + 4xMSAA at this res as well. As for stability, I've not encountered any serious issue like BSOD, CTD and such.
    Phusius says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page