1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Crossfire 7970's and power question

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Aceman.au, Jan 27, 2012.

  1. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Would my current PSU sustain 2 7970's in CF?

    Soz for small thread... But I must know
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Easily. If you look at a review for the cards you'll see that they draw around 220 watts of power at most.
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  3. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
  4. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,613 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    348
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Off topic, your specs say your 2600k is stock? why haven't you overclocked it if so? I wouldn't recommend crossfire unless you are overclocking to at least 4GHZ+
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    with sandybridge chips overclocking dosent do a whole lot for performance unless CPU bottlenecked good examples would be Skyrim before the 1.4 patch,

    otherwise the difference is around 5-7 fps gain on average going from 3ghz to 4.4 ghz

    with crossfire memory bandwidth will do more for performance then core clock.

    and yes the 1000w strider shouldnt have any trouble
  7. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    It's just a 2600... Not a 2600k
  8. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    2600 can still clock past 4ghz

    point is it wont matter a whole lot

    the only real advantage from clocking your cpu would be that as you push an Sandybridge CPU's clock speed it also increases memory performance

    example 1866 9 10 9 27 at 3.3ghz i get around 22GB/s bandwidth 1866 9 10 9 27 at 4.4ghz I get 24GB/s

    something to keep in mind, for crossfire system bandwidth is pretty much critical with high end gpus.

    but considering your on 2133 you should be just peachy performance wise.
  9. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    And how do I clock it to 4GHZ?
  10. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    490 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    Yer mate your power supply gunna b ample! No sweat.
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    turbo,

    you can still set the turbo multi higher on P67 / Z68 if i remember right its a maximum of 8 multis from stock

    so 3.4 + 4 = 3.8 +4 = 4.2ghz

    so in theory you should be able to push the turbo multi up to 42x and get to 4.2ghz

    you can also still overclock via BCLK, try 103 then 105 BCLK test for stability

    at 103 x 42 = 4.3ghz
    at 105 x 42 = 4.4ghz

    so with a good chip you can still get past 4ghz. even on a 2600 non K
  12. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Sick will test this after WoW raid :p
  13. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,131 (4.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,745
    Location:
    04578
    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/cpus/2011/01/03/intel-sandy-bridge-review/5

    depending on where you look it would be 3.8ghz max on 4 cores

    at 105 BCLK on 38 multi would be 3990 core clock or 4ghz,

    if you push turbo higher. you can get 4.1 single core 4.0 dual core 3.9 tri core and 3.8 quad

    with BCLK you can push it to

    1 core = 4300mhz
    2 core = 4200mhz
    3 core = 4095mhz
    4 core = 3990mhz
  14. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Another question. Is it worth waiting for the price drops? Like, will they be big or small when the 6XX comes out?
  15. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    How long is a bit of string?

    If recent graphic card pricing is anything to go by then unless your idea of an acceptable wait is around 12-18 months, then any price drops are usually small change.
  16. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    So... Dont bother waiting?
  17. boomstik360

    boomstik360

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,207 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    That is what I'm thinking "/
  18. MatTheCat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    883 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
    Well....

    ....I dont know how that price (the one u linked to) is in Australia, but providing it translates pretty close to $550 USD (taking tax into consideration of course), then if you really want to buy the card, dont wait, just buy the card.

    If on the otherhand that price is grossly inflated over the RRP set by AMD, then wait until the mania dies down and/or supply matches demand. In the UK on the release day of the 7970, many retailers jacked the price of reference 7970 cards to £530+ and people still bought them cos the e/tailers who were selling at the £460 mark all sold out super fast (I got mine for £430 delivered).
  19. Soup

    Soup New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    159 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    'merica
    I've got two Sapphire 7970's in CF. Earlier this week I burnt out my 750W thermaltake while mining. Got my 1000W last night... seems to running pretty great.
  20. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Picked up 2 Gigabyte Factory Overclocked 7970's.

    Fkn expensive, but worth it!
  21. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    you running just a single 1080p monitor?
  22. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    2 monitors at the moment. Sometimes eyefinity when my bro isn't using his screen :p
  23. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,536 (13.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,936
    Going from 6870's in CrossFire, all you need is a single 7970. Hopefully you don't run into any CrossFire hassles.
  24. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,418 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    It's massive overkill. But I'd rather have excess FPS then not enough....

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2012
  25. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    I dunno, you probably won't get much more performance if you don't overclock your CPU more than 4ghz for crossfire. I remember doing a crossfire bench for GPU in 3D Mark Vantage and I remember from my 6950 crossfire setup that my score started dropping by a good margin when I clocked my 2600k below 4.2ghz.

    So basically you'll be a fat guy running in really good running shoes, if you wanna make the most of your nice pair of shoes you'd need to OC and slim down! :laugh:

    Not to mention you'll get great FPS gains in WoW raids and towns.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page